Skip to content

The Actual Quilting Part of a Quilt

February 20, 2009

I’m working on the Sew Mama Sew Blog doll quilt-along.  I’ve made quilt-ish projects before, even a few blankets that could be called quilts.  But I’ve never really learned how to do it proper, and this quilt-along seems to be a step in the right direction.

img_1183

Actually doing the quilting has been my favorite step.  I’ve machine quilted small pieces just using my regular presser foot, but for this I went out and bought a darning foot.  Note to self–the little arm sticking out of the foot goes above the screw post, not under it.  Seriously, that took me several hours of fiddling, thought, and internet searching (with baby care interspersed) to figure out.

img_1189

Everything in the internets about machine quilting says to practice, practice, practice.  But I was too impatient, so I jumped right in to quilting my project.  Which means I ended up with lots of jags and jumps and odd shapes–but that’s okay.  I wanted this to be a learning project, and I kind of like the way it shows my, um, learning process.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

