Skip to content

Punk Easter Bunny

March 5, 2008

It’s all about the bunnies around here. I’m test knitting a bunny that I’ll tell you about soon (when it gets a face, so as not to scare Laurie). And I’m crocheting (yup, i’m hooking!) this punk bunny out of amigurumi by elisabeth doherty.

So cute. I’m using leftover Knitpicks Shine Sport, and I’m loving the colors. I had plans to make a whole army of bunnies for Easter, but i’m quickly running out of yarn–these take more than you’d think. And I’m running out of time, but that’s beside the point.

My favoritest part about this pattern is the explanation for why the bunny has a little scull on his t-shirt (you can see it on the book cover, just follow the book link.) The designer explains, “Really, he’s kind of timid and twitchy, like most rabbits. He wears this shirt hoping that people will leave him alone. If you were the new kid at the skateboard park, you might wear a shirt like this, too.” All this under a picture of a kid, at a skatepark, looking a little slouchy and wearing a t-shirt with a skull. Love it.

I’m back and forth between wanting to recreate the scull for the punk bunny look, or going with an Easter Egg to be festive. I’ve still got a bit of work to do before I decide.

3 Comments
  1. Kim permalink
    March 5, 2008 7:22 pm

    Yes! I have this book! Good job so far!!

  2. March 6, 2008 11:39 am

    The bunny with the face looks nice! I have a bunch of amigurumi patterns that I will try one day — including a ring tailed lemur.

    Thank you for sparing me the faceless bunny. For some reason that seems even more alarming than a faceless human.

  3. gaile permalink
    March 22, 2008 3:38 pm

    so how did the punk bunny turn out!? Enquiring minds want to know! 😉

Comments are closed.

