Skip to content

I’m knitting a tree

January 21, 2008

Yay for sunshine! Somewhere in the hour between getting home from church (cooking and serving dinner for 100 with the help of half a dozen teens–good times) and watching the sun set I realized that we were finally getting some picture taking weather on a weekend. I think I photographed about a dozen projects–including several sweaters over the past year that never got their finished shot. Everything is updated on ravelry now (i’m strayingpower, if you’re looking), and i’ll be doling out the sunshine throughout the week here.

Woodins, from Knitty. Or rather, a home for the Woodins, who have yet to be knit. I’ve been looking for an excuse to knit this, and I found one when the new LYS asked for a sample. This seemed like just the sort of cuteness that would fit their open, bright, and pink store. (the couches are covered in pink amy butler prints, squee!) They’ve also asked me to teach a few classes, and I am extremely excited to work with them. They’re going to be a lot easier to work with than Joann’s because there’s no corporate overhead to deal with–although Joann’s does pay a bit better. More than the pink couches or the offer of a job, however, I’ve got high hopes that this yarn store is going to be the sort of place that folks swoon about in other areas–the sort of place where the community is as important as the yarn.

Back to the woodins. Fun stuff, this pattern. The bark pattern is improvised–the instructions just say to start a random rib and shift it over a stitch now and then. I’m not sure if I’m getting quite the same, um, authenticity–but once it’s got leaves on it I think people will be able to tell it’s a tree. Laurie, don’t worry, there will be eyes–all over the tree trunk and on the woodins themselves as well. Although i’m doubting that faceless trees are as disturbing to you as faceless dolls.

Oh, and there are 1 and 1/2 more faceless dolls floating around the house, too. I made them during the Packers’ loss last night. (side note–so sad to see them lose, now we can’t host a wisconsin themed super bowl party. i was looking forward to the cheese curds and brats.) There would have been 2, but I ran out of thread.

I was pounding through my Henley Perfected until about a week ago–and then the store knitting hit. Now I’ve got three store or class samples on the needles, and I need to complete a mitten by tonight for a class tomorrow. My ravelry wip’s is embarrassing, and everything isn’t even up there. I should start knitting…

2 Comments
  1. January 21, 2008 12:12 pm

    I have no problem with eyeless trees at all. 🙂

    Those woodins things are super cute! Maybe I will learn to knit, just for them.

  2. Kim permalink
    January 22, 2008 5:35 pm

    You ARE knitting a tree. . . Al Gore would be so proud.

Comments are closed.

