Skip to content

Cutest Swatch Ever

November 7, 2007

Why swatch when you can hat?

I’m really glad I made the Veggie Hat before attempting the colorwork on the Eat Your Veggies sweater. I worked out a few color, tension and gauge issues–and I got a cute hat.

As written, the hat pattern has some decrease issues. The decrease round is meant to be done every three rows–after about 4 decreases I shortened that to two, and the last 6 decreases were done every row. And still, as you see from the side, the top is a bit elfish. But I’m too busy getting started on the sweater to go back and round it more. The original picture in Vogue is taken from below, so you can’t see the ugly top of the hat–sneaky Vogue. It’s a bit disappointing when a respected magazine pulls tricks like that.

The last couple days I’ve been adding a few inches to the body and sleeves (cuddly is sounding better than cropped right now), and connecting them. I’ve got a few more rounds of plain green, but by the end of the week I plan to be stranding again. Yipee for finally learning me some colorwork!

4 Comments
  1. November 7, 2007 3:29 pm

    That hat is SO cute!! 😀

  2. November 7, 2007 10:03 pm

    I love the hat!

  3. Kim permalink
    November 13, 2007 8:09 am

    Yipee, indeed!!!

  4. November 14, 2007 5:08 pm

    Great hat and good idea to use it for practice. I dislike making swatches, too. Nice colors.

Comments are closed.

