Skip to content

Preppy Preemie

November 4, 2007

A couple of weeks ago my friend and co-worker had a new baby… about 6 weeks earlier than anyone was expecting! The little guy weighed in just under 4 lbs, and he’s been a trooper in the hospital ever since. He should be coming home soon, and until then he’ll be stylin’ in this tiny vest.

Most of the preemie clothes out there are very functional–basically t-shirts with lots of velcro and snaps so that they’re easy to get in and out of, even around tubes and monitors. And I don’t think he’s going to have a whole lot of use for an argyle vest until he’s off the tubes, but now and then, even a two week old needs to look good. So I used the measurements for 4 lb babies that I found around the internets, made a little vest, and instead of seaming I gave the edges a sturdy seed stitch border, and used snap tape to close up the sides and top.

This little guy’s arrival meant a big change for me, too–I think I’ve hinted at it a few times around here. I’m filling in for his mom as our church’s youth director while she’s on maternity leave. I’d been shadowing her all fall, learning the ropes and getting to know the kids–but with the baby’s arrival I’m on my own. This is work I’ve done before, but it’s been a while, and it’s a new group… so it’s been a busy few weeks around here. But it’s worth it, because they are a fun group. Today I had the change to take them walking through a labyrinth–a sort of meditative maze/path. The one we visited was outdoors, the path was marked by bricks and covered in fall leaves. And it was chilly enough outside to believe it was fall, but otherwise it was bright and sunny and beautiful out. And they walked through the path thoughtfully, and, bless them, didn’t say a word for 30 minutes. Even if they didn’t pray a bit on the walk, even if they just got to enjoy 30 minutes with mouths shut and ipods off, I’m considering that a success. Funny, so many of the things that we decide to teach teens, in our schools and churches and community groups, so many of those things are the things that the adults haven’t learned yet either. So it was nice for me to have half an hour unplugged as well.

3 Comments
  1. November 4, 2007 3:23 pm

    I LOVE IT! The snaps up the side are perfect, too–his mama’s gonna LOVE that sweater. πŸ˜€

  2. Kim permalink
    November 5, 2007 7:07 pm

    That could NOT be any more delicious — good for you!

  3. November 6, 2007 9:37 pm

    aw, the little vest is precious. here’s hoping he gets to come home soon. and good luck with the youth group – sounds like you’re already making a difference in their lives. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

