Skip to content

NaKniSweMo Starts Here

November 3, 2007

My main sweater challenge for the month is to pull out my “Eat Your Veggies” sweater from, oh, two years ago, and finish it up. I think — if I remember right — that I’m ready to attach the sleeves to the body and work on the stranded design on the yoke. So before attempting my first “real” colorwork, I figured I needed a swatch. But I don’t swatch, so luckily the sweater comes with directions for a hat.

Oooo, this stranding is fun. I’m slow, but I’m getting the rhythm of knitting with both hands pretty well. And the colors are working, I think. But I hit a roadblock last night, preventing me from staying up too late finishing the hat. The way the hat is made it has a 3 inch hem. That hem is knitted into the outside body of the hat after the first three inches are knit–enclosing the strands, and the loose ends. I got halfway around closing the hem before I realized that I needed to do some end-weaving to avoid some awkward holes and lumps. Blah. End weaving is bad enough at the end of a project, it should not disrupt the mojo midway. So that tangle needs to get sewn up before I go any further.

Oh, and for those of you who don’t remember what I was knitting three years ago–“Eat Your Veggies” is actually Sweater #11 out of Vogue Knitting Fall 2005. It earned the name when I was picking out KnitPicks yarn–the colors I ended up with are Avacado, Carrot, Asparagus, Cherry Blossom and Hollyberry–other options included Pumpkin, Tomato, and Wheat. Yum, it just sounds like fall, doesn’t it all?

3 Comments
  1. November 3, 2007 12:27 pm

    I am so happy to hear you don’t swatch. Although I have not crocheted in like a year (I’m totally pulling out my fluffy white hat any day now) I always hate to swatch too and was worried it would impede my crocheting one day. You are my inspiration!

  2. Edith permalink
    November 3, 2007 7:14 pm

    NaKniSweMo!!! I love it. I’m going to finish my pink V-neck! And maybe work on my chunky red cabled sweater, too…

  3. Kim permalink
    November 4, 2007 12:24 pm

    It does! What great color names!!

Comments are closed.

