Skip to content

Crafty Little Things

October 21, 2007

There was a lot of kiddy crafting before and during our friends’ visit. Beforehand there was the rush to finish semi-matching sweater and dress for godson and his brand new sister. Generally I think that intarsia is a bad idea–but I always end up drooling a little over Lucinda Guy’s designs. Still, her small gauge and big-kid sized patterns weren’t going to do the trick–so I stole a few of her motifs and pasted them onto other patterns. Like this little puppy, pasted into a sweater out of this book.

For the new baby I used Kate Gilbert’s Anouk — an easy and flexible pattern that I really enjoyed making a few years back. And it’ll fit the kiddo for a year or so because it’s more a pinafore than a dress. Instead of Anouk’s flowered pockets, however, I used some old school Cotton Ease (same colors as godson’s sweater), and some of Lucinda Guy’s flowers. Sound cute? Well, it was, but I never took a picture. I remembered this just as they were leaving. And I have done some silly things to get pictures of my knitting, but I would never be so crazy as to disrupt the packing-and-leaving ritual of parents with small children.

I was still adding some finishing touches to the kidswear when they arrived, but that was kind of fun, because the godson got to see that I was making it for him, and he seemed to get the connection between the yarn and the sweater. He also brought along his “Buddy” that he got for Christmas last year.

Poor Buddy had an accident, perhaps involving the family dog, that resulted in a large puncture wound. (I did not try to conceal my pride that it was a bite, and not a frayed seam, that sent Buddy to the doctor.) I didn’t have leftover of his hair fabric, so a simple patch was out. At his mom’s suggestion the little guy picked out a couple colors from the felt I did have, and I stitched on a little bandaid.

Just for fun, I pulled up the Make-A-Long story on the internet for the kid while I was working. And he was absolutely amazed to see his Buddy on the computer. By the end of the story I think he also caught on that there were more clothes that could be made for the doll… more kid crafting coming soon, perhaps?

2 Comments
  1. October 22, 2007 1:44 pm

    That bandaid is so cute! I’m glad our doll hasn’t had an injury, but I can’t help being a little envious….. 😀

  2. Kim permalink
    October 23, 2007 6:26 am

    I remember Buddy! So very sorry about his mishap, though — thank goodness you and your ingenuity were there to help him out.

Comments are closed.

