Skip to content

Knit to be Tied (fashion advice from Forbes)

October 5, 2007

I have finally trained the family to ask for knitting. Horray!

My dad told me earlier this week that he’d like a knitted tie for Christmas. I laughed at first, thinking of ties like this. But no, he told me that knitted ties are in, and provided some pictures of ties like this to prove it. If the tie itself doesn’t convince you that a knitted tie could be a good thing, check out the price tags.

Okay, so, I had a few internet pictures to go by, but I wanted to see one of these things close up to see how it was constructed. So after work I took a trip around the mall to all the places where ties are sold, and tried to find a knitted tie. There are no knitted ties in Fort Wayne. Don’t worry dad, that just confirms that they are, indeed, in style. If you wanted something so easily accessible here in the Fort I might have wondered about your taste.

Still no actual ties, but much internet research later, I decided to go it alone. While some ties had a stiffer fabric backing, they all seemed to be hemmed in or knit in the round to avoid edges. Seed stitch was also very popular, but I decided to go with stockinette and little stripes because 1) it was like one it the picture dad sent, and 2) I didn’t want to make that much seed stitch. Especially not on an experiment.

Dad, if you don’t want to hear and see your tie until Christmas, then you’re just going to have to stop reading my blog until then. But if you want to watch the making-of-your-tie, then stay tuned.

There’s the first inch and a half. Started it with a Turkish Cast-on. Which I rather stupidly managed to do using only dpns, and no circs. Because I don’t think I even have any small needles in circs. Those of you who have done Turkish Cast-ons before will understand why this was a bad idea. For those of you who haven’t, sorry, explaining why this was bad would involve me writing a whole tutorial and showing where I went wrong, and I was too busy cursing at the time to take pictures of my fiddling. Besides, you should go try the cast-on yourself. This was my first time, I found these instructions very easy to follow, and I even managed to make it work using not-so-recommended tools.

From here on up it’s going to look like a very long sock for a very square foot.

4 Comments
  1. October 5, 2007 11:57 pm

    You know what? The Shopping Tunic is the first of your projects that I just don’t like. You’re right that something’s just off… 🙂

    I showed a friend of mine your site and she was in awe. 😀 She loved the sheep–she’s a knitter too. 🙂

    And I laughed at the Ft. Wayne style code–too funny. 😀

  2. Kim permalink
    October 6, 2007 9:09 am

    Are your Dad’s feet long and square? ‘Cause then, this could count as two presents!

  3. October 7, 2007 10:29 pm

    I can’t wait to see how it turns out – i love the idea of a knitted tie!

    BTW I can’t seem to get your feed to work? I’ve subbed and subbed and it never works! =(

  4. October 9, 2007 6:12 pm

    Looking forward to watching your progress on this tie – my Dad has hinted at a knit tie in the past & so far I haven’t done anything about it. 🙂

Comments are closed.

