Skip to content

Knitting

August 19, 2007

Yup, I have been knitting this summer. I haven’t been photographing or posting, but I have been knitting. So tonight, after an evening of button bands and seaming, I decided it was time to take a knitting picture. Nevermind that the sun is down and the flash is glaring…

That’s the sweater I’m working on for my sister. All it needs is the side seams, a crocheted little collar, and the ends woven in. Will I finish it before starting something new?

I’ve got other projects in the works, too. I’ve been making a lot of store samples for my knitting classes–those aren’t all that exciting, but maybe I’ll do a group photo shoot sometime. Yesterday I set up a little demo table to encourage folks to take my classes. Joann’s wants their stores to offer the intro knitting classes every month, but they don’t always get students–so I’m hoping my classes don’t get canceled. I’m really excited to start teaching, but it’s hard to teach without students. I got to promote next to the crochet teacher, an older woman who used to teach crochet classes at the local department store (recently bought out by Macy’s, boo) back when they had a yarn department. I would probably go in department stores more if they sold yarn.

5 Comments
  1. August 19, 2007 11:50 pm

    I had thought about teaching at JoAnn, but since I rarely go in there, I decided against it. I have a gig teaching pretty much whatever I want at my LYS. I used to teach in Sacramento, but now that we live back in the Bay Area, that’s a bit of a drive. Due to health issues, I cut my classes back to just socks, and I don’t really like this store as much as my old one.

    I remember when Mervyn’s sold yarn, fabric, notions… everything you needed to sew, knit, crochet, or do any number of fiber arts. They used to be a real department store. No longer. I think those are a thing of the past, sort of gone the way of the Five & Dime and variety stores. It’s a real pity.

  2. Kim permalink
    August 20, 2007 6:39 am

    I remember when department stores carried yarn. And fabric. And records.

    (heavy sigh.)

  3. August 21, 2007 5:51 am

    Beautiful colour! and I remember when department stores sold wool as well….Loving my sheep markers by the way – so much fun!

  4. August 29, 2007 6:34 pm

    I love the color πŸ™‚

  5. August 30, 2007 6:34 pm

    What a sweet looking sweater – love the color!

    The last batch of PS sheep arrived today – love them! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

