Skip to content

Packing up

June 20, 2007

5 days until closing! The various yarns and knitting projects are making their way into boxes, the house is a mess, I have a bazillion little calls I need to make to make sure that mortgages and inspectors and insurance folks and whatnot are all happy–and I am wishing I could fast forward through these next few busy days and get around to enjoying the new place already!

Luckily a break is stopping by this weekend. My parents will be in town for a few days, and I have every intention to ignore everything house-related while they are around. We might end up hanging out at their hotel room, which might make me a poor hostess, but I will be glad to be away from the boxes for a while.

One project I don’t plan on packing is Celessidra. I figured she was small and complicated enough to keep me busy until the rest of the yarn finds its home. I did not figure that she would disapoint me as she did last night, though.

While struggling a bit with a cable, the yarn broke. Not the yarn I was working with, the yarn from the previous row that I was stitching into. What the heck? I’ve never had that happen before, and I was very grumpy about tinking back to a place where I could restart the yarn. I’m using KnitPicks Gloss–anyone else have trouble with this yarn being weak? This problem is solved, but I am worried about the yarn breaking again, or the socks being weak when they are finished. Knee socks are going to take a long time, I don’t want them snagging and breaking the first time I wear them!

I tried thinking mean thoughts at Celessidra and sitting her in time out for about half an hour last night. But with all the other projects packed away, I grudgingly returned to her. I’m proceeding cautiously.

One Comment
  1. June 20, 2007 1:56 pm

    I need your new address! πŸ˜€ I have your misrouted Christmas card sitting here. I just got it out to send a thank you card too (but shh, it’s a secret–I want you to be surprised when you open your mailbox). πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

