Skip to content

A Bit of Easter Yellow

April 8, 2007

Here’s a bit of Easter yellow that I caught on my last trip home. My mom has a little wire tree covered with these blown eggs–most of them smaller than your usual chicken egg. They were made nearly 50 years ago by a friend of my grandma’s, and each has it’s own little details of flowers, glitter and ribbon.

It’s a low-key Easter around here. The service at church this morning was crazy packed, we almost didn’t find a seat. The rest of the day will be spent writing and eating. No big fancy meal, but we did pick up some essentials–eggs (hard boiled, but not dyed this year), strawberries and pound cake, new potatoes. Springy foods to help us ignore the snow outside.

I would list chocolate among the Easter essentials, but I’ve been eating Easter candy for the past week. Eggs, I picked up on the way home from church this morning, but I was all ahead of schedule with the chocolate.

One Comment
  1. April 10, 2007 5:24 pm

    That’s so nice to have “historic” holiday decoration. Even better when the eggs really do look cute. The craft of Easter egg decoration was a serious matter in the region I went to University. They’ve even got a Easter egg museum! Just a glimpse here: http://www.tag-des-herrn.de/2000/240.htm

Comments are closed.

