Skip to content

Very Own Vest

February 22, 2007

It’s working! It’s really working!

Last weekend I blocked the front and back of the lace vest I was working on over Christmas. I found the lace pattern in a book, but turning it into a vest is all my doing. Decreases and lace? Tricky stuff. Luckily wool stretches in forgiving ways, so you can’t even tell how uneven some of the shaped sections are.

I really should have taken a pre-blocking picture, because lace pre-blocking is awfully skinny stuff. When I told onlookers that I was knitting a vest for me they nodded bewildered, ’cause that thing didn’t look like it would fit around a Barbie doll. The thing was so tiny that I found myself doubting the swatch. But a little water and a little stretching and tada! A full sized grown up vest:

And the best news? I seamed her up, and she fits! Like a real vest! Just the ribbing around the arms and neck to go. I can’t wait to finish this up and wear it!

6 Comments
  1. February 22, 2007 8:38 pm

    Wow, I’m impressed! Well done. And I love the lace pattern you chose.

  2. Kim permalink
    February 23, 2007 12:06 am

    That is simply beautiful. Exquisite work!

  3. February 23, 2007 10:06 am

    So beautiful! I have all the stitch pattern books and am just not daring enough!

  4. February 23, 2007 10:15 am

    That is gorgeous – love the lace pattern, it almost looks like little flames!

  5. February 23, 2007 11:45 am

    That’s fabulous! And hey, perfect for the gorgeous mountain colours yarn I ripped out of my ill-conceived clapotis project (really, i have no shoulders, why would I knit a huge freaking wrap to wrestle with all day?) So….are you going to turn this into a pattern? Because I’d buy it!

  6. February 23, 2007 2:52 pm

    oooh very pretty! the lace pattern is kinda like the peacock’s feather.

Comments are closed.

