Skip to content

Hunkering Down

February 12, 2007

Storm’s a’comin’! They say we’ll might get a foot of snow in the next 24 hours, and I’m all ready. I braved the grocery store this afternoon (really, if anything is scarier than the roads during a snowstorm it’s the grocery before the storm). And tonight Christer and I took a late-night field trip to the bookstore to use up some gift certificates.

I came home with Victorian Lace Today–what a great book! I’m loving all the rectangles. I just don’t know quite how to wear a triangle shawl, but I can pull off scarves. And the book is full of history and bits of original patterns and notes on construction. I came home and quickly found the white sea silk I bought a few weeks ago. I’m going to keep working on Saffy in the background, but I’m itching to try something new. I think I’m going to follow Grumperina’s lead and make a melon stitch scarf (shown behind the yarn in the picture). It looks like a fun pattern, and she’s already shown that a single skein of sea silk is plenty for a scarf.

Food, knitting–now I just need the weather to be bad enough that my workplace shuts down tomorrow. Unlikely–but wouldn’t it be nice to stay inside with the lace, watching the snow…

Comments are closed.

