Skip to content

Leftover Christmas Lace

January 24, 2007

Three weeks, one sweater and two robots later, do you want to see what I did over Christmas break?

I am loving how the pictures in the snow are turning out! This is a closeup of a stitch pattern on a vest, my own little experiment. I bought two matching skeins of Cherry Tree Hill sock yarn with plans for a lacy scarf. I brought along a pattern and the yarn on my holiday travels–and cast on for scarf #1, rip, scarf #2, rip, scarf #3, rip… I finaly realized that I just don’t wear lacy scarves that much, and if I’m going to do that much lace knitting I’d like to show it off. And so, it became a vest–of my own pattern.

The back and half of the front are done, now I just need to figure out how to do the decreases around the neckline to make a respectable V-neck. Remember, I have not worked without a pattern on anything besides a few scarves and hats, let alone tried to work decreases into a lace pattern. The stitch pattern, thankfully, is out of a book, so it at least looks nice.

I worked so hard on this for two weeks of vacation, and then I didn’t touch it when I got home. So it is now officially a stashed unfinished project. And since the project monogomy did such good things for Something Orange, I am going to try very hard to finish this up before starting anything else.

4 Comments
  1. January 24, 2007 9:40 am

    that pattern with that yarn is absolutely gorgeous! I can’t wait to see the vest. πŸ™‚

  2. January 24, 2007 11:13 am

    It looks great! Mmmm, a vest out of CTH! I think I may need to do something similar. πŸ™‚

  3. January 24, 2007 11:43 am

    OOO! I can’t wait to see it. My ripped Clapotis of two skeins of gorgeous red mountain colours is still waiting to be made into something I would actually wear. Maybe your vest can inspire it’s next incarnation!

  4. January 24, 2007 4:44 pm

    oh, it’s such a lovely pattern!

Comments are closed.

