Skip to content

R2D2 and C3PO

January 22, 2007

The Colts and I had a busy night last night. While they were making their way to the Super Bowl, I finished three projects:

That’s okay if you only see two. The third needs to remain secret for another week. But you see I finished the robot. And then I realized that I would be a terrible aunt if I sent a package to the older nephew and nothing for the younger nephew. So in the interst of family harmony I whipped up a little friend for the robot. It was a quick project, really, the stuffing and sewing took longer than the knitting. And I like them together, they remind me of C3PO and R2D2. One is tall and roboty and scowling, the other is round and small and happy.

As for the Colts, I really can’t even call myself a fan. It took me nearly two years of living in the state to realize that Indiana even had a pro football team–and just a few weeks ago I was rooting for my Chiefs to beat the Colts. But it is fun to have the hometown win, and to see the local news all excited, and to hear Fort Wayne get a shout-out at the game. (After winning, the Colts coach said he was looking forward to playing the Bears, and that it’s a shame they have to travel all they way to Miami, they might as well just play halfway between the cities, in Fort Wayne.)

Mostly, though, the Colts’ trip to the Super Bowl makes me happy because it’ll help Indiana’s self-esteem. The poor state really has no self confidence. Last year when the Colts were in the playoffs the Indianapolis news was all excited that their success would help Indy be more of a “real” city. Y’all think of Indianapolis as a real city, right? I mean, all I knew about Indy before I moved here was that it had an airport–but I just assumed that it had all the other city type stuff as well. And unless you’re a big racing fan I know that Indy isn’t on your list of places to visit before you die, but that doesn’t make it any less real. I could give so many more examples, but Christer and I have really noticed that Indiana as a state feels like it is second class and it’ll never be any better, so why try. And so, although you will all forget that Indy was in the Super Bowl in a few weeks, and although this will not change any of your opinions about Indiana, it does seem like it makes the folks around here perk up a bit. And that is a happy thing to see.

2 Comments
  1. January 22, 2007 2:12 pm

    Hurray for Robots! I know I keep saying this–I haven’t forgotten that picture! 🙂 Maybe today’s the lucky day! 🙂

  2. January 24, 2007 5:57 pm

    Hmmm…my birthday happens to be in about a week. I wonder if that has anything to do with the embargoed project. 🙂

Comments are closed.

