Skip to content

Longish Sleeves

January 17, 2007

I wanted to wait until I finished the first sleeve to take a proper picture, but it is sunny outside RIGHT NOW, and all y’all in the midwest know how long that’ll last, especially this winter.

Ta-da! A long sleeve. Almost. It still needs a couple more inches. And even then it’ll be an inch or so shorter than I want it. But I’m counting on blocking and gravity to provide the extra inch. No, I did not make a swatch, or if I did it was so long ago that I’ve lost it. And so no, I do not know what washing will do to this particular yarn. But since I need those sleeves just a bit longer, I’m hoping it’ll stretch just a bit.

Oh, and I’m also hoping that I’ll have enough yarn to make the second sleeve. Because my method of hocus-pocus guestimating yarn amounts may not be quite scientific.

4 Comments
  1. January 18, 2007 1:18 pm

    you are so living on the edge with that sweater! i’ve got all available fingers crossed for you.

  2. Kim permalink
    January 18, 2007 7:55 pm

    Stunning. And who but a knitter would rejoice at the sun not because it’s a break in bad weather, but because it provides good light for a photo?!

  3. January 18, 2007 9:17 pm

    It’s really coming along. I am in love with the orange color!

  4. January 20, 2007 2:06 pm

    Gutsy. Stategy note: when I’m short on yarn I knit the sleeves at the same time, so that I can squeeze out every last inch of yarn.

Comments are closed.

