Skip to content

Doll Lineup

December 12, 2006

Quick PSA: The server has been having some trouble lately, I’m sorry if the blog has been down while you’ve stopped by. Christer’s probably not going to get around to fixing it until post-Christmas, so this means we’ll probably just turn off the server while we’re gone for the holidays. I’m writing this now in hopes that y’all will get the message before the blog disapears at the end of the week. Don’t worry, I’ll be back after the new year.

Now, why you really came… to see the dolls:

So cute, and they don’t even have legs yet. At least they don’t in this picture. I finished two of them today for a party tonight. The next two should be done by the weekend, and the final two, for me, probably won’t get done until after Christmas. I was hoping for an impressive finished shot of all six, but since they won’t all be done and in the house at the same time I’ll be showing off pictures two by two.

Keri asked a while back about the fabric–and I wish I could answer, but it’s all from scraps. Some from swaps, some from stores, some washed, some unwashed. The shirt with the trucks on it is cut from a thrifted shirt, the hair and shoes are from a wool-blend felt. The skin is all from cotton flannel–unfortunately Joanne’s didn’t have much choice in terms of skin tone and next to me these pale babies make even me look like I’ve been getting some sun. So, yeah, the fabrics are whatever I could find. For future reference the quilting cottons, flannel, and felt seem to work the best.

As far as the process goes, they’ve gone together easily, just as the instructions said. Even the “dreaded #9” (yes, that is how the pattern refers to the step) where you add the legs–well, it wasn’t quite painless, the needles poked me and the bulky fabric yanked at the machine. But the end result was great, so no one needs know about that. All in all, good project, fun for making multiples, but maybe a bit too much to take on right before Christmas.

5 Comments
  1. December 13, 2006 7:09 am

    Oh my gosh, how cute! You never cease to amaze me! Merry Christmas!

  2. December 13, 2006 10:10 am

    I like the dolls, although I have a deep seated fear of faceless dolls — yours are not that scary!

  3. December 13, 2006 10:55 am

    Thanks for the fabric info, they are turning out really cute!

  4. December 13, 2006 12:22 pm

    I love them, and you know what? I think I like them without faces!

  5. December 13, 2006 2:37 pm

    holy moly those dolls are adorable. and the hats from a few posts down area also great. your sweatshop is churning out some seriously happy holiday cheer this year!

Comments are closed.

