Skip to content

Hats for the Mafia

December 5, 2006

I’ve been on a hat kick lately, and I haven’t been documenting it on my blog at all. There have been 5 hats on my needles this fall, and two of them are completely finished. So last night at S&B I caught up with those two hats, and the lovely women under them.

Don’t let those smiles fool you. Because they’ve noticed that they are just a few years older than most of the rest of the group (not that the rest of us had noticed), and because they are the only two that are bald right now, Liz and Deb have threatened to break off from S&B and start their own “Middle Aged Women with Cancer Knitting Mafia.”

They insisted on photographing their mafia look. While we don’t see the mafia scowls often, they must have been showing these tough faces to their cancers lately. Despite chemo, both ladies looked great last night and reported good numbers from their doctors.

Perhaps because I wouldn’t want my sweet little dolls to come under the influence of the mafia, I topstitched their hair on during my lunch break from studying today.

After a warm morning of studying and writing under blankets this morning I am about to brave the cold to get the license plates renewed. We didn’t get any snow here, but the cold hit. So once the errands are done I’m going to cuddle back up with theology and hot chocolate–and if I finish those maybe I’ll fit in some more hat making.

3 Comments
  1. December 6, 2006 1:29 pm

    Hey — careful there! Standing up to the Mob could put you in harm’s way. . .

  2. December 7, 2006 4:48 am

    Hat-making! Sounds like fun! I guess I’m just checking in this morning-I don’t have anything terribly interesting to report. 🙂 Talk to you soon. 🙂

  3. December 11, 2006 10:41 pm

    Hey, we have the exact same sewing machine!

Comments are closed.

