Skip to content

Blue Streak

November 8, 2006

Last night was bitter sweet. The biggest races here, House and local Sheriff, both went to the Republicans, despite good races by the Dems. At least they managed to each pull in over 40% of the vote–that’s a victory around here. But two good people aren’t going to get a chance to serve the area, and Fort Wayne is worse for it.

Better than the election was the company. Two knitters and one knitter’s family stopped by to watch the results come in. Hanging out with folks I don’t have to censor my politics around is a rare treat around here. It was fun spending time with Mandy and Liz with the boys (Christer, Mandy’s husband and kid) around, it’s a nice social twist on the knitting group. And of course, there was knitting:

Look at all that I got done in one evening! Yes, I was watching TV way to long. But also size 11s go very quickly. No, I haven’t introduced this project–it’s a bit of a surprise, so no guessing about it in the comments, okay? I will tell you that it is made out of KnitPicks’ Spinnaker yarn–and it is fun and fast, but maybe not the most pleasant knitting experience.

Then, this morning I woke up and it was official, the House is blue, the Senate most likely is too, and by lunch Rummie was gone. Oh! And right now they cut in on the TV to say that the Virginia race is official–we have a blue Congress!

4 Comments
  1. November 8, 2006 11:31 pm

    Finally! Maybe I’ll start a blue sweater to celebrate.

  2. November 9, 2006 12:28 am

    Your NEW NEW cars are BEAUTIFUL!! We’re still not at that point yet, nor will we be for… maybe ever! 🙂 My mom offered to sell their pickup truck for just over $5k, the amount left on the loan. It would be so worth it (especially because they take good care of their vehicles) but we’re just swamped financially! Not even a used car… lol Maybe some day…… 🙂

    It’s been a long time since I’ve visited *ashamed*. Your blog wasn’t loading properly for the longest time–I’m SO GLAD to be back and in the loop!! 😀 I was thinking about you today, wondering if you’ve started your Christmas cards. *laughing* I know it’s a random thought, but it was there nonetheless. 😀

    Talk to you soon! 🙂 austin

  3. November 9, 2006 7:50 am

    A…too bad about your local guy. We lost a nasty state-level propositing here, so I share the tinge of disappointment. But still–Blue Congress!! No Rummy! Woo!

  4. November 9, 2006 9:24 am

    The car couldn’t be cuter — wonder how much yarn it would hold?

    And, *sigh of relief*, Goodbye Don!

Comments are closed.

