Skip to content

Cake is Good

September 29, 2006

I tried very hard to take a picture of the Tres Leches cake that I made for a get-together tonight. But sponge cake with cream dripping off the sides is not so much good for the photos. Instead, I will quickly show you my newest project.

This is going to beWhitterings from over at Amelia Raitte. I was very close to breaking my one-gift-at-a-time rule, as this was going to be a chemo cap for a friend. But we decided at S&B that the colors were not right for the friend, so this is not a gift after all. Whew. Yes, I’m still going to finish it. And I am going to make another in better colors for my friend. That’s going to be a whole lot of cotton knitting on a tiny gauge, but don’t you think the hat is worth it?

Back to Tres Leches–yum. I first tried this sort of cake last spring, and it is the best thing I have ever tasted that didn’t have chocolate in it. The cake calls for 3/4 cup of butter, 9 eggs, and 4 cups of whipping cream, so it’s a bit rich. I used this recipe, and now I am off to frost it and to take it to the party.

2 Comments
  1. September 30, 2006 8:04 pm

    Oh, an expertly made Tres Leches is one of life’s supreme decadences. Hooray and salivations for you!!!

  2. October 2, 2006 12:11 pm

    Can’t wait to see whitterings, it’s on my must-knit list.

Comments are closed.

