Skip to content

Lotus on a Plane

September 20, 2006

Along with trips, there must be knitting. At some point I thought it would be a good idea to bring Kierkegaard along on the plane. But I forgot that plane reading must serve two purposes: 1) fill time and 2) make me forget that I am in an enclosed space. Kierkegaard only does the first, and while that means I still have reading to do tonight before tomorrow’s class, at least it means that I did not go crazy on the flight.

See how the lace decreases? I figured that all out on my own. On the fly. Okay, maybe it isn’t beautiful, but it is functional and it only disturbs the pattern a bit.

Here’s what I’ve been doing to fix the Lotus Blossom Tank. If you’ll recall, last you saw her she was ripped down to the lace for growing way too big. Since the bottom already has a bit of a flare, I decided I’d keep the four repeats of lace the bigger size. Then, since I wanted a bit more coverage, I used one repeat to decrease to the smaller size’s numbers, and added another repeat to boot. If I’m going to reknit the thing I might as well fix everything that wasn’t quite me about it, right?

I finished the lace, finished the stockinette of the body up to the armholes, and got a good way along the back on the trip. Then I got home and looked for the pattern to see how long the back should be, and I could not find my magazine anywhere. My issue of IK Summer 06, the magazine I have started 3 projects from, was left in the seat back pocket on the plane. Yet another side effect of coming home on a plane at 2 in the morning.

4 Comments
  1. September 21, 2006 9:34 am

    Oh no! Ram Wools has back issues of a lot of magazines… try checking them out. ( http://www.ramwools.com )

  2. September 21, 2006 3:57 pm

    oh that sucks!

  3. September 22, 2006 9:51 am

    So sorry you lost your IK! I think your lace decreasing solutions works — yay for you!

  4. September 23, 2006 12:09 pm

    I have a copy…send me an email!

Comments are closed.

