Skip to content

Almost Flying

September 5, 2006

Icarus is done! And I am so incredibly proud. And a bit vain, too, because I have not yet taken a picture worthy of her beauty. So here’s one more post of progress shots, and soon, soon I will show the finished shawl.

There’s Icarus after binding off. I was pretty excited at that point just to stretch it off the needles into a somewhat triangular shape. And although you see more bobbles than lace, the even scrunching seemed to hint that I had completed some sort of symetrical pattern.

And there’s Icarus blocking. Stretched out, bigger than I thought she’d be, showing off the pattern in the lace. Yay! Lace! I made that! I cheated on the blocking wires and bought $1.50 worth of wooden dowel rods. They snagged a bit when I took them out, but they did their job.

You know, I was thinking when I bought an oversized orange towel. Knitting really does show up well on it, even if the color can be a bit much. Finished photos coming soon.

4 Comments
  1. September 5, 2006 11:04 pm

    Looks awesome!!!

  2. September 6, 2006 7:24 pm

    Can’t wait to see it. It’s going to be one gorgeous shawl. Hurry up and take a picture for us, will you 🙂

  3. Anonymous permalink
    September 8, 2006 3:33 pm

    Oh, it looks beautiful! And yes, the orange background is a great idea. I can’t wait to see the finished product.

  4. September 11, 2006 9:17 pm

    fabulous! It’s gorgeous and what a great idea on the dowels! I’m so stealing that!

Comments are closed.

