Skip to content

Help My Knees

August 9, 2006

I have decided that I need a pair of these:

But what on earth does someone two hours away from 29 (yup, the birthday is tomorrow… had to throw that in!) wear knee socks with? If I’m going to put those hours into that lace, I want to show it off… but I haven’t the slightest idea how. Any ideas? Ladies? Please help, I must find a way to wear knee socks.

And what would I wear different if the socks stopped just under the knee instead of just over it? Or would those be uncomfortably hard to keep up?

(Yes, Meegan, Edith, and all the S&B ladies have already answered this question for me. And yes, they all gave me reassuring answers that there are un-crazy ways to pull off wearing knee socks. But I need more encouragement.)

9 Comments
  1. August 9, 2006 9:49 pm

    What a great pattern – I’m sure you can pull it off!

    Happy Birthday (a wee bit early)! My sister turned 29 today (9th). Hope you have some fun planned to celebrate the day!

  2. August 9, 2006 10:32 pm

    I’ve had the same question since I first saw that pattern. One day I will make those socks, but not sure if I’d ever be able to actually wear them. I’d Love to hear some suggestions.

    Happy Birthday!

  3. August 10, 2006 7:01 am

    Happy Birthday and a mini skirt would work!

  4. August 10, 2006 7:49 am

    Happy Birthday!

    I think the socks are really cute and you could definitely pull it off. I would actually just wear them under jeans…you couldn’t catch me in a skirt =) However, a skirt would probably show it off best.

  5. August 10, 2006 8:57 am

    a little plaid schoolgirl mini. i was planning to make these someday (or something similar) and that’s what i was gonna wear.

  6. August 10, 2006 4:05 pm

    i LOVE those socks. if i had more knitting patience, I’d definitely make them… and wear them with all sorts of skirts. Go for it!
    And happy birthday for tomorrow…

  7. August 11, 2006 12:12 pm

    Oh, I love these! What book is this in? OK, my suggestion – make them go over your knees. Then wear them with garters (which sounds somewhat decadent to me!) and a skirt that will cover the tops of the socks. No one will know they are knee socks and not tights. And tights seem totally acceptable to wear at 29. I’m 31, and I wear tights.

  8. August 12, 2006 3:15 pm

    I also have admired these socks and wondered the same thing…I came up with wearing an over the knee length denim skirt with a “flouncey” hem – that way they cover the tops but showcase the lace back. Maybe pair that denium skirt – or even a brown wool plaid one – with a closer fitting sweater vest over a snug cap sleeve tee, the hem of the tee could peek out from under the vest perhaps… That’s my vision for the when and if I make these babies – and I’m 35! Caution to the wind birthday girl!

  9. August 13, 2006 8:46 am

    Happy birthday!

Comments are closed.

