Skip to content

Lissa’s Wedding Rug

July 30, 2006

Last weekend I was in Seattle, attending my college friend Lissa’s wedding and dropping off this rug:

Pattern: Circle of Fun Rug from Mason Dixon Knitting
Yarn: Two strands of Cotton Ease in Blueberry and Candy Blue (stashbusted 10 balls + some, yipee!)
Needles: US 11’s. This puppy flew.
Things I loved about this pattern: Knitting a rug drew admiration from knitting and non-knitting friends alike–but this was a painless knit. The short row pinwheel was fun, I hadn’t used short rows to make a circle before. The outer circles were great for working on at S&B. Despite having no shaping, everything fit together nicely. And it made a great, original gift. I don’t think I’ll ever make an afghan, I’ll just keep making rugs for wedding gifts. In fact, I’ll be starting another one next week.

And lest you think the best part of Seattle was showing off my knitting skills, here’s a picture of the wedding. Pretty setting, eh? The bride and I met in college, and we shared an apartment, my first off-campus housing, for a semester. She also shared the same apartment with Christer a year earlier, and she was responsible for introducing the two of us. So it was especially sweet to see her happy on her wedding day. The ceremony was full of personal touches, the pre-and post-wedding parties were full of old friends.

The happy couple are still on their honeymoon, but I know they just can’t wait to get home and find a place for their new rug.

8 Comments
  1. July 30, 2006 7:39 pm

    The rug looks great – what a special gift for a special friend!

  2. July 30, 2006 7:44 pm

    wow! what a great gift and a great use of cotton ease. the wedding looked beautiful.

  3. July 31, 2006 8:31 am

    The rug looks wonderful, I love the colors and the design. What a pretty wedding.

  4. July 31, 2006 9:01 am

    the rug looks fab. this one is on my to-do list. thanks for sharing your FO!

  5. July 31, 2006 2:16 pm

    I love the rug! Oh, now I need to make one.

  6. August 2, 2006 10:46 am

    that rug looks fabulous! what a sweet present. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Seattle – looks like the weather wasn’t too unkind to your friend’s wedding.

  7. Frarochvia permalink
    August 4, 2006 9:05 am

    Love that rug! What a great color combination and yarn choice!

  8. August 5, 2006 10:10 pm

    That’s not only a very pretty rug but also a very cool wedding gift! I wish I would have friends who appreciated handknit gifts 😉 I think I just have to educate them better, like you said, they’ve seen you knitting. I should come out of the closet 😉

Comments are closed.

