Skip to content

Play Scarves

July 11, 2006

One of the many crafts that need to be finished this week is a set of play scarves for my nephews. When I worked at an after school program the kids there made a set, and they were one of the favorite toys. They became tents, beds, costumes, dance partners, you name it. So I thought I’d share the fun with the 6 and 2 year old nephews I’ll be visiting next week. I have been informed that these scarves ought to be red for the older boy and blue for the younger.

Wanna see them in process?

Twisting, swirling and tieing the scarves into bundles. I used 3 foot square silk scarves from Dharma Trading Company. They are also a good source for dye, but for these I just used Rit from a local store.

Red scarves, just as they were dipped in the bucket. Rit dye is made to work in super hot water. I’ve got tons of barely colored shirts tie-dyed outdoors in big buckets with groups of camp kids. And although that method is fun and kid friendly, a few kettles of boiling water make for much better colors.

And the blue scarves, getting good and blue. In these pictures both the red and the blue have hints of purple, and so I am going to count this post for Project Spectrum.

Finally, the fun part, unwrapping and watching the patterns reveal.

Right now they’re going for a spin in the washer to make sure they’re good and rinsed. I’ll let you see the finish product after they’re gifted.

5 Comments
  1. July 11, 2006 9:21 pm

    looks like fun. cant wait to see them finished! x

  2. July 11, 2006 9:29 pm

    What a fun idea! I’ll have to tuck it away for my goddaughter one of these days.

  3. July 12, 2006 7:08 am

    OMGosh! Those are great! I must make those for my many little creative geniuses!

  4. July 12, 2006 8:15 am

    those look really cool! I can’t wait to see how the red ones look … 🙂

  5. July 12, 2006 8:42 am

    I once taught pre-school, and children DO love scarves! Good for you for contributing to their fun!

Comments are closed.

