Skip to content

Hometown Tourist

July 8, 2006

I’ve been visiting my parents in Kansas City this week. I don’t have a good way to get pictures off my camera and onto their computer… so I’m just going to borrow some publicity photos from other websites to illustrate our trip.

A few of my high school friends were in town for the 4th, which was a nice surprise because, really, who goes home for the fourth of july? We went to the high school to watch fireworks on the 4th, and Christer was subjected to Meegan and I pointing to all the buildings and telling old stories. He did a good job of looking mildly interested. The next night we went to Jill’s house and played Trivial Pursuit with her family. Usually my trips home are all about family, most of my friends are now so scattered, so these visits were a treat.

In keeping with our summer-of-baseball theme (5 Wizards games, 1 Mallards game and 1 Royals game so far) we headed out with the parents to Kauffman Stadium on Thursday night. No, I did not bring knitting. I think my limit is two activities at once. Knitting and baseball, I can handle. Knitting, baseball, and socializing with my family? That is too much excitement for me. With no photos of knitting to show, I’ll share a picture of my favorite part of the game–the outfield fountains. They shoot up in different configurations and colors between the innings.

If you’ve been following the Royals at all this season, then you know that it was a very special treat that we got to watch them win.

Cool sign, eh? The Blue Room is a jazz club that is attached to the American Jazz Museum. Christer’s a huge fan of jazz, and so his interest led my parents and I to check out a local landmark that I hadn’t visited before. The singer even performed “Goin’ To Kansas City”–a speeded-up, jazzed-up version that is perhaps the only time I’ve ever actually enjoyed hearing the standard song.

And because you need a craft update somewhere in this post, yesterday I also picked up a couple of magazines. Adorn and Sew Simple. Adorn is a new magazine filled with ways to pretty up ready-made items. There were fun ideas and craft-inspiring pictures–nothing brand new, but some good instructions for some things I’ve never tried. Sew Simple seems to be a special issue put out by a quilting magazine. It’s for beginners, and I debated buying it because I didn’t see anything new or exciting in it. But again, it has solid instructions for sewing without patterns, things like curtains, pillows, and a drawstring skirt. I could figure these things out on my own, but their instructions included a few tips on how to make things better. I’ve flipped through the magazines a few times, and I’ll get a chance to read through every detail in the car tomorrow.

Tonight Grandma’s coming over for barbeque, and we just might watch “High School Musical.” Then on Sunday we’ll be back in the car for the 9 hour drive back to Indiana. Pictures of my family and the projects I brought along when I get home.

3 Comments
  1. July 8, 2006 2:17 pm

    Sounds like you’re having a great time – I wish I could have spent more time in KC when I was there for the wedding in May. The Royals games were always a favorite thing to do. Enjoy the rest of your visit & safe travels back to IN.

  2. Deb permalink
    July 8, 2006 6:14 pm

    I really miss Royals games. We used to go frequently when we lived in Leavenworth. I still look at their results from time to time, but that can be a pretty depressing endeavor. I’m so glad you got to see them win! Be safe coming back to Indiana

  3. July 10, 2006 1:59 pm

    the game looks fun! I love the fountains. let me know how you like High School Musical… I was somewhat disappointed.

Comments are closed.

