Skip to content

Stitches and Scones

June 20, 2006

To celebrate all the yarn I’ve been clearing out, I made another impulse buy today.

(hey look, a blue yarn shop! I get to count this post for Project Spectrum, too)

Last night at S&B a friend mentioned that her favorite yarn shop was on the way to Indianapolis. Well, I had to go there today, so I got directions, and spent an extra hour on the way home browsing their shelves.

Stitches and Scones is definitely worth a stop if you find yourself on I-69 or US-31 in Indiana. Which might not ever happen, but in case it does, you now know there is a yarn store there. It was a good sized shop, lots of variety, although not much that I hadn’t seen at other stores closer to me. It felt cozy, too–the workers were talkative, and there was a baby cooing behind the counter. Sadly, despite the name, I saw no evidence of scones. I did see a box of donuts, but I could not tell if they were for sale or for staff. But more importantly than sugar, they had a whole wall of koigu, and it was only the presence of silk that kept me from taking some home.

One skein of Fiesta La Luz Multi. In a color called White Zinfandel. 100% silk. Have I mentioned my love of silk? It’s silky silk, not raw silk (which I also love), and it has the necessary silky smell. The yarn shop lady said she made a shirt with this–and I started drooling. But it didn’t take much math to figure out that a tank top out of this stuff would run around $200, and so I just got one skein. It’s a tiny, 200 yarn skein, but I am convinced that I will be able to make a skinny lacy scarf out of it. If it isn’t long enough for my neck, at least it should be long enough to pull back my hair.

Gee, it’s good that I’ve been clearing my stash of impulse buys–now I have room to store more impulse buys.

6 Comments
  1. June 20, 2006 7:42 pm

    Sounds like a lovely detour!

    This might be just the thing for the lovely white zin silk:
    http://www.knitandtonic.typepad.com/dreamswatchwrap.pdf

  2. June 21, 2006 8:11 am

    I love your blog – I read it regularly, and I know I probably should have left a comment before now. Thanks for visiting mine – you are my first “knitter” visitor! I have been knitting since February 2005, although for a while I stopped because I was having trouble teaching myself out of a book. But, I am now back into it and learning new things every day. I only hope I can continue to learn, and gain the skills you have shown us on your blog! Thanks!

  3. June 21, 2006 8:14 am

    Oooh the silk looks so luscious! I think a small headscarf would be just the thing. I love Amy’s idea of the Dream Swatch Wrap Pattern.

  4. June 21, 2006 8:25 am

    The shop looks rather quaint and inviting. And your silk…I’m drooling!

  5. June 22, 2006 12:05 pm

    I am in LOVE with that color. i think I’ll leave your web site open so i can come back and drool over it all day! LOL

  6. June 22, 2006 7:39 pm

    Ah yes! I love your logic…. Out with the old impulses, in with the new ones! Another vote for the dream swatch here.

Comments are closed.

