Skip to content

Why Stop at Just One?

June 18, 2006

I like assembly line crafting, particularly because I end up with groups like this:

That’s four needle rolls, made by following Ashley’s tutorial (great tutorial, thanks!). They seemed a good use for some super bright blue and red fabric that Laurie brought me back from Suriname. She’s there again now, and you can follow her following monkeys on her blog. (She hasn’t posted about monkeys yet, just about travel, but she’s going to try to post every few weeks or so.) It was fun finding other scraps I had that would go along with the super bright print. I found some quilting fabric in similar colors, and some are lines with other random things. I managed to make these all from stashed materials. Go me!

One is for me, to organize my grandma’s double pointed needles in. Two are for bloggers who have been generous with me and deserve a little gift. The last is for Laurie, when she returns, although she will be using hers as a crochet hook roll, not a needle roll.

It’s been a busy weekend. We caught an outdoor concert Friday, and it was so nice to be outside on a muggy summer night. Saturday we tried out some of the ribs at the local Rib Fest–but the hot muggy weather kept us from stuffing ourselves as much as we might have otherwise and we met up with friends afterwards. Today we stopped by a small art fair, and I have to admit that I was feeling a bit jealous of the folks who could make it to the Renegade Craft Fair or similar fairs. There’s really only so many watercolor flowers I need to see, you know? We’ve been going a bit overboard about trying out everything Fort Wayne has to offer, but I do feel like I’m getting to know my way around town a bit better. And now, once I finish this entry, I’m going to settle in front of the TV for DVDs of The Office and Six Feet Under and work on the mindless knitting of the Circle of Fun rug. Yay for summer weekends.

Oh, and thank you so much to everyone who is helping me thin out the yarn supply. Now I know I will go through with purging the yarn, because I know y’all are counting on getting it. 🙂 Thanks for making cleaning more fun for me, I’m looking forward to seeing what you unload on me!

4 Comments
  1. June 19, 2006 9:38 am

    Yay! I’m so glad someone used it. Did you find any glitches or anything that needs editing?

    How fancy that your needle cases come from Suriname!

  2. June 19, 2006 9:57 am

    The needle cases are so cute! Makes me wish I were handier with my sewing machine. Which sits behind my bedroom door and gathers dust. *sigh*

  3. June 19, 2006 8:42 pm

    The needle cases look great! How fun to make several in assembly line fashion!

  4. July 4, 2006 1:56 pm

    Neat needle cases!

Comments are closed.

