Skip to content

Weekend Review

June 13, 2006

Yes, I know it’s Tuesday. Yesterday was full of starting my new job (yay!) and celebrating my new job (yay!), so I’m a bit behind. But here’s some pictures from the weekend.

First, Friday night at the Fort Wayne Wizards. Our rental office has been giving out free tickets, so we’ve been to three games already this year. Add to that the Mallard’s game when I was in Madison, and I think I am turning into a baseball fan. Here’s Christer eating the falafel we smuggled in. What could be more American than a summer night of baseball and falafel?

Next up, my favorite picture from Germanfest. Along with German beer, German folk dancing, and lots of German kitsch, one of the booths was selling cable packages with full World Cup coverage. But that booth didn’t photography nearly as well as Snow White and the 7 dozen dwarves here:

Despite some whiny comments on other’s blogs Saturday morning, the rain let up and I got to fit in some knitting-in-public at Germanfest. It was rather chilly, so I got quite a few comments from passers-by that they hoped I was knitting them a sweater. No sweaters were finished, but I did make some progress on the front cables and ribs on my Evening Star top. Nothing worth photographing, though.

At home my weekend knitting consisted mainly of working on the Wedding Rug. I finished the middle spiral of the Circle of Fun (I’ll take a picture once I seam it), and I started the first of the two circles that surround it. The instructions for this piece, and I quote Ann and Kay, “CO 10 stitches. Knit in garter stitch for approximately three years. BO.” I got a good chunk of it done before I ran out of yarn–no worries, more is on the way. While I wait for more yarn I’m going to start the second strip, which is longer and wider and just as plain. “CO 20 stitches, knit for approximately seven-and-a-half years. BO.”

3 Comments
  1. June 13, 2006 10:53 am

    Yay, I’m glad I”m not the only one who’s smuggled hippy food into madison events! Always bugs me that you can’t get anthing that’s not dead or deep fried at those things. of course, falafel is soooo very tasty when deep fried…… 😉

  2. June 13, 2006 1:39 pm

    oh, I love baseball, too! (but only live – on tv, snooze-fest) and I am also a fan of smuggled falafel. When I lived in Paris I used to smuggle falafel from a walk up stand into the movies.

  3. June 13, 2006 8:45 pm

    Yep, that is about 3 years! 🙂
    Hope the first day at the new job went well!

Comments are closed.

