Skip to content

More Blue

June 10, 2006

I told you everything I’m working on right now is blue.

This summer a wave of weddings is hitting. I’ve got two weddings I want to attend (although with the new job I might only make it to one), and it seems like several other acquantances are getting married as well. A few weeks ago I started thinking about knitting a present for my sister-in-law and her fiance. Afghans seemed the most logical knitted gift (a couple really can’t share a sweater). But this couple will be living in Alabama, and their wedding is in August. I just couldn’t picture them getting much use out of a blanket. And then I discovered Mason-Dixon Knitting.

That’s the beginning of the Circle of Fun rug from Mason-Dixon Knitting. This is a fun pattern–big needles (size 11US) and short rows make for a good summer mix of interest and speediness. I’ve never done a pinwheel pattern, so I have fun watching the pattern emerge. The only trouble with it is that I’m doubling my yarn and working with two colors, so the yarn is almost always tangled and never portable for S&B or outside summer knitting. Once I get past the center, though, I’ll only be working one color at a time.

In fact, I’m having so much fun with this rug that I’ve decided to make another rug for wedding number two. The next one will be some sort of riff on the Mason Dixon log cabin rugs, and will bring in some brighter colors. And that inspires some more shuffling–because my friend has lots of blues in her registry, and my sister-in-law would like the brighter colors. Long story short: the rug pictured above will be for my friend, the yet to be started rug will be for my sister-in-law, and both will be done this summer. I’d better get back to knitting.

4 Comments
  1. June 10, 2006 1:25 pm

    Oooh…great idea! I love those rugs.

  2. June 11, 2006 8:01 am

    A perfect wedding gift! And nice work, too!

  3. June 11, 2006 9:15 pm

    I just wanted to stop by everyone’s sites and quickly tell them that we’re shutting down Scooter’s Super Baby site for personal security reasons. If you’re interested in our e-mail address or in further explanation of our site closure, please stop by! We’ll miss everyone very much, and hope to keep in some form of contact with whom we’ve become such good friends. xoxoxo

  4. June 13, 2006 7:48 pm

    It looks great – what a fun idea for a gift!

Comments are closed.

