Skip to content

The Lace is On

June 2, 2006

I find the Amazing Race absolutly frightening. I enjoy visiting and staying put in new places, but I hate traveling. And I get tired and cranky when I travel, so I require much rest before and after any trips. I would rather starve in one of Survivor’s jungles than drive, fly and run all over the world on the Amazing Race. And I’m really not much of an outdoorsy person, either, so that’s saying something.

I also haven’t the foggiest idea how to talk up my team. Trash talk? Nope, I’d rather just quietly think I’m better than you. If I ever was on a reality show, I’d be the one that flew under the radar. But, of course, I’m so good at flying under the radar, that the idea of trying to get onto the radar by applying to any sort of reality show would be completely out of character.

I didn’t even manage to get the instructions to this first challenge right. My team picture nicely shows of my Icarus Shawl-in-progress, and um, a couple of my freckles. One member of the team is clearly getting more coverage than the other. But come on, knitting at the ballpark? This is a blog worthy photo, whether it follows the rules or not. Maybe it even suggests that my lace is more interested in competive sports than I am.

To those of you who have no idea what I am talking about, this is my introductory entry to The Amazing Lace. Why did I join if I’m not a fan of the show and I’m not going to try to win the challenges and I’m not going to follow the directions of the challenge to begin with? I’m a joiner, people, what can I say. And I felt like some sort of knit along was the proper way to get some encouragement for my first lace-weight lace project. So I’m going to do my best to keep up with the challenges without pretending that my entries are witty, original, or charming. Kind of like the marathon runner who walks most of the way. And hopefully by the end of the summer I will have a finished lace shawl and a few new blog-friends–but probably no trophies.

5 Comments
  1. June 2, 2006 9:19 am

    Oh Icarus! I love that blue (plus, at a baseball game – you are amazing). 🙂

    good luck on amazing lace!

  2. June 2, 2006 2:27 pm

    lovely! (and I love the Amazing Race!)

  3. June 2, 2006 4:42 pm

    hee hee. Too bad I don’t knit, and that I am going to South America. I loooove the Amazing Race. R and I are totally going to go on it one day and kick ass!

  4. June 3, 2006 9:16 pm

    The lace is looking great! I love ARace too – thought this sounded like a great KAL but just didn’t feel like I could commit to it with the craziness that is my work travel right now. (Need simpler knits for balance.)

  5. June 9, 2006 4:40 pm

    Great “under the radar” introduction. I wish you much fun with the challenge and your teammate who takes most of the spotlights for now.

Comments are closed.

