Skip to content

Beginning the Blues

June 1, 2006

I rarely knit with blue, but right now nearly everything on my needles is blue. Starting with the blue flecks in my Evening Star top, which now has a completed back.

I had a job interview today–my first for this job search. I was glad to get it, and I am even more glad that it is over. I don’t get too nervous about interviews, but I always surprize myself with how little control I have over what comes out of my mouth. I can be long-winded and honest, which isn’t necessarily the best way to make a good first impression. Like when they ask about how you deal with your weaknesses in the workplace, and I know I’m supposed to say that my greatest weakness is that I am a perfectionist, but instead I start rambling about how I was in over my head at my last job, and how hard that was for me, and how I had to leave in the middle of the year. And I tried to pull it back together by saying that I’d learned a lot from the whole thing and that really, I’m not crazy. It just doesn’t occur to me, at least not before my mouth opens, that they are asking the question in order to judge me, not because they are genuinly interested in my life.

Of course, if I was doing the interviewing, I would find my honesty refreshing. Then again, if I was doing the interviewing, I would have given the job to me by now.

This weekend I’m heading to Madison to visit my brother. Look forward to pictures of baseball, farmers market, my friends’ baby, and lots of road knitting when I return!

2 Comments
  1. June 2, 2006 12:16 pm

    Beautiful blue knit! I love the cabling at the bottom.

    Safe travels to Madison, and wishing you the best on the job hunt!

  2. Laura permalink
    June 2, 2006 3:33 pm

    “Of course, if I was doing the interviewing, I would find my honesty refreshing. Then again, if I was doing the interviewing, I would have given the job to me by now.”

    HA! Love it!

Comments are closed.

