Skip to content

Lace is Amazing

May 15, 2006

After several false starts, my Alpaca Cloud has settled on the Icarus pattern from the new Interweave Knits. (I tried the lace pattern in the spring IK, which was actually written for Alpaca Cloud, but when I got to the “Knit 7 into 5” I gave up. Knit 7 stitches together? No, not for me.) This is my first attempt at lace with a lace weight yarn, and Icarus looks like a good starter project. Three quarters of the shawl is a fairly simple stripe of eyelets, with 7 plain old knit stitches between each stripe. The last quarter turns into a trickier leafy pattern, but I’m hoping that by the time I get there I will not be intimidated anymore.

Here’s a picture… but progress shots on this project aren’t going to be pretty. It’s already too big to stretch out on the needles. And my apologies for yet another indoor shot–rumor is that by the end of the month the rain will stop.

And yes, of course, Icarus and I will be joining the Amazing Lace. It’s going to take some public shaming to get me through this project. Icarus and I are going to fly…

6 Comments
  1. May 15, 2006 6:01 pm

    I’ll be knitting Icarus for the Amazing Lace too! I’d like to get some stuff off the needles and co next week. Keeping my fingers crossed. And be brave — you’ll get into the rhythm of it and do just fine!

  2. May 15, 2006 6:02 pm

    I am doing the EXACT same thing, I think…different color, though. I saw that knit 7 together pattern and just laaaaaaughed. Right… good luck!

  3. May 15, 2006 8:42 pm

    It’s looking great! Yeah Lace!

  4. May 15, 2006 9:11 pm

    I have some Alpaca Cloud just waiting to be turned into something. I haven’t a clue what though! Maybe you will inspire me to try this!

  5. May 16, 2006 5:17 pm

    I just received my IK late last week, and I thought that was an absolutely beautiful shawl!

  6. May 21, 2006 7:16 am

    I love that pattern…just need to get brave enough to try it!

Comments are closed.

