Skip to content

Easiest Short Row Ever

May 11, 2006

Thanks all for your compliments on the bag! I’m glad to know that there are many other fans of gnomes out there. The fabric is from Munki Munki (or the same designer, I forget), and is available at several stores around the web (google munki munki fabric, you’ll find lots). They’ve got some other very cute prints as well–I’m looking for a reason to buy some of the beach print.

But back to knitting. Have I mentioned that I love the shaping in shrugs? I’ve been adding ribbed borders to the Icey Bolero I posted a few days ago. Most of the borders are just 10 rows of K2P2. But around the neck the the ribbing is longer than it is around the front. This achieved with short rows, but not just any short rows. This pattern includes the easiest short rows ever. No wrapping, no backwards yarnovers, just stop and turn the work around. Because of the ribbing you can’t see where the holes are:

Nifty, huh? And now, here’s a picture of what the neckline looks like all finished.

Simple. Clever. Fun. I heart shrug patterns.

5 Comments
  1. May 11, 2006 6:18 pm

    sweet! that looks fabulous! I’m gonna remember that trick.

  2. May 12, 2006 6:20 am

    Pretty, pretty!

  3. May 12, 2006 5:54 pm

    This is neat. You really can’t see a hole. Maybe I should start knitting shrugs? But I don’t wear them either. 😦 Yours looks very pretty though!

  4. May 15, 2006 5:31 am

    Gorgeous! What yarn is this?

  5. May 15, 2006 10:29 am

    Very cool! I really like the color you are using. I may have to make one of these for my mom.

    This is a great pattern, but I think the ribbing could all be done in the round, after seaming. I think I will try it that way the next time I make Molly (the kids version in Junior Knits).

Comments are closed.

