Skip to content

Kickin’ It

March 24, 2006

The boots are done:

They made their debut at a trip to the yarn shop today. My favorite yarn shop is a little place called the Shuttle Shop out in Warsaw, Indiana. It’s a small shop, but the owner does a great job of circulating her stock, so I always find something new when I visit. She’s sold some of my sheep stitchmarkers (I need to send her some more this weekend), and she was very intrigued when I came in several months ago to buy yarn to make shoes. So I had to finish them in time to show her. We laughed that as clever as the pattern is, and as much time as it takes to knit anything, this is all you see of them when I wear them:

The other problem with them, the problem I did not disclose while wearing them and looking fabulous, is that the character shoes underneath hurt. This probably has more to do with me never, ever wearing heels than with the quality of the shoes. But my toes were so sore after an hour of shopping that the shoes spent the ride home (it’s a trek out into the boonies–it takes nearly an hour to drive out there) in my carry-all, the best-easter-basket-ever.

If you’re on stashalong patrol and you see that yarn, never fear! I did not buy anything for me, just a few treats for my SP7’s final package. So if you’re my pal that purple chunky alpaca will be heading your way soon.

And as for the shoes, I’m planning to break them (or my feet) in slowly. A few hours (minutes?) a day, around the house, until I can wear them on longer outings. And although you can’t see much of them, that is the style, and they do look good that way. It’s just a peek of knittedness, so that the observant viewer of my feet just might ask, “Hey, are those knitted?” instead of having everyone I meet imediately deduce, “Oh, you made those didn’t you?” You know the difference–saying something looks handmade is only a compliment when people aren’t quite sure if it really was. 🙂

6 Comments
  1. March 24, 2006 6:00 pm

    I always find myself absolutely needing to run to the yarn store whenever I’ve finished a project–because it’s the only place where people will really appreciate it! (Except the blog, of course, but in real life anyway.)

  2. March 24, 2006 6:38 pm

    I don’t think I’d ever made a pair of knitted shoes … but yours and Alison’s are just so cute! Too bad that they hurt! Maybe you can do something to solve the problem … it’d be great to be able to wear them often. Great job!

  3. March 25, 2006 8:53 am

    Cute! I can imagine those would be uncomfortable but hopefully wearing them around the house for a short bit at a time will take care of that. Great kicks!

  4. March 26, 2006 9:19 pm

    The picture with the jeans? FABULOUS!!! Congratulations!

  5. March 28, 2006 5:23 pm

    Those shoes look so great! I hope you are successful in getting used to them. I can’t believe that a project that sounds so silly turns out so stunningly beautiful. Great job!

  6. April 11, 2006 4:51 pm

    The boots are great! I saw that episode and meant to make some but I still haven’t gotten around to it. Maybe in the fall now that it’s finally warm enough to wear sandals 🙂

Comments are closed.

