Skip to content

Sock Quiz

March 20, 2006

Pop Quiz: Do you try on socks you make for other people?

I find trying on socks as I work on them irresistible. I think I’m convinced that if I don’t see the sock actually on a foot, it might not really be shaped like a sock. Sometimes I try them on with my own sock still underneath, but that has more to do with laziness than with hygiene. And usually, when making socks for myself or family, I don’t even think about it. But when I’m making socks for a sock pal, a near stranger, and then when I write a blog entry about trying on her socks, I wonder if she will read my blog, see how her socks were treated, and refuse to put them on her own feet. And I would never know, because I’m sure she is polite and would never tell me that she found my habit disgusting. So please, tell me that you are guilty of this too so that I know I am not breaking a sock-making taboo.

Here is said sock, sans feet:

It is a good thing that I do try them on, though, because the first sock I tried would not fit over my heel, but this one fits just right. Earlier I’d complained that the twisted stitches have no stretch–but I’ve since learned that the lace stripes do stretch when worn. They stretch out, but unlike ribbing, they have no cling to them. So I’m still a little worried about these fitting other feet–but her feet are close enough to the same size as mine that I’m feeling pretty confident. So if you were waiting for my review of the pattern before you cast on, I can say now that yes, it is possible to make this sock fit a foot.

I promise, I always, always wash socks before I send them.

12 Comments
  1. March 20, 2006 10:47 am

    I always try on socks in progress no matter who they are for. The socks are always washed before being gifted. Wouldn’t bother me in the least if the knitter of socks had tried them on before gifting.

  2. March 20, 2006 10:51 am

    Absolutely! I always try on socks when I ‘m knitting them. Even el hubsters though his feet are mucho big. And the good news is a gentle wash in some Eucalan and no harm done. Your sock looks great!

  3. March 20, 2006 10:53 am

    I would seriously doubt the judgment, I have to say, of someone signing up for Sockapalooza if they have such foot anxiety that they would mind your trying them on. πŸ™‚

  4. March 20, 2006 11:57 am

    I’m not your sock pal, but I don’t think there’s anything wrong with “testing” the socks. πŸ˜‰

    (Oh… and I’ll e-mail that recipe soon!)

  5. March 20, 2006 1:52 pm

    SO funny – I had the same question when I made my very 1st sock for osmeone other than me LOL But I agree with you and what;s been said. It’s not like you ran a marathon in old smelly sneakers 1st, right? And they are being washed anyway πŸ˜‰

  6. March 20, 2006 5:10 pm

    i try all socks on. because i don’t trust that the actual measurement of heel to toe on the sock is the same as it is on the foot. i’ve had it not work out before when i just try to go by what’s on the measuring tape. and when i knit socks for people who have bigger feet than me, i make my roommate (who’s 6’2″) try them on. yeah, he thinks i’m weird, too.

  7. March 20, 2006 7:22 pm

    I try socks on. Thankfully I have very small feet, so there’s no danger of stretching anything out. I always wash socks thoroughly before gifting, of course. Lovely sock there!

  8. March 21, 2006 10:12 am

    I always try them on … to make sure they don’t pucker or look funny. I also always wash them before packaging for shipping/giving, too.

    Love those socks! πŸ™‚

  9. March 21, 2006 3:16 pm

    The sock looks fab- and good for you for trying it on!

  10. March 21, 2006 3:54 pm

    Sure, try socks on, at least if the one you are knitting for has smaller feet.. When I gift socks I always wash and block them. And ‘trying on’ doesn’t mean wearing them with sweaty feet squeezed in old stinky hiking boots for three days I suppose? πŸ˜‰ Seriously, it is so much better to check out flaws in sizing and shaping and some patterns just don’t work until you have seen them on the foot. So definitely: try them on!
    Brilliant Project Spectrum picture btw!

  11. Neva permalink
    March 22, 2006 4:47 pm

    I’m trying mine on as I go, since my sock pal has roughly the same size feet. It’s a little cruel to tease my feet like that; I know they are going to be asking me for their own pair! Yours is lovely and I would be very pleased to have such nice “gently tested” socks!

  12. April 21, 2006 7:34 pm

    I won’t be trying my pal’s socks on. It is tempting, but I just don’t feel right about it. There is something special about being the first to try on a pair of socks, IMO. I will keep that pleasure for my pal.

    At the same time, I don’t mind if they try mine on as they go, knowing they will probably wear a clean sock underneath and/or wash them before sending. Those knitting socks for Sockapaloooza are very considerate, so it doesn’t bother me at all.

Comments are closed.

