Skip to content

Friday Night Skirt

March 18, 2006

So last night, sans Christer, I watched three episodes of Six Feet Under and I mostly made a skirt. It still needs a hem, but otherwise, here it is.

I haven’t sewing any clothing for six years, so I was pretty impressed that I remembered how to do most of it. I even managed to get the zipper in without a zipper foot. By the time the Tonight Show came on I had enough skirt finished to try it on, and by the time Conan ended the skirt was all done but the hem. It’s kind of a treat to block out that much time to work on a project and get it done. And it’s faster than knitting.

But, sewing takes up my whole apartment. My coffee table was for cutting out the pieces, my kitchen table, covered with a towel, was my ironing board, the sewing machine is set up on my desk in another room, and pinning and other handwork was done sitting on floor in front of the TV. This morning it looks like a little red tornado went through last night. It makes me appreciate the knitting, which is quite clean and portable by contrast. But this skirt also makes me want to do more sewing soon.

3 Comments
  1. March 18, 2006 11:21 am

    It is very pretty!!! Have you seen this website? http://sewiknit.blogspot.com/

    It’s for knitters who are starting to sew. Obviously you already know how to sew, but you might be interested in checking it out.

  2. March 19, 2006 5:52 pm

    very nice skirt! I ahve had my mom’s old sewing machine for over a year and need to go see if it costs too much to fix it. I brought it home with the intention of learning to sew skirts on it, as I dislike many of the skirts I see in stores.

  3. March 21, 2006 3:46 pm

    So cool! This skirt looks fabulous! But you are so right about the difference to knitting. Sewing is much faster but takes so much more space. That’s why my sewing machine is barely used. 😦 Hope to see more in the future, this one is great!

Comments are closed.

