Skip to content

On Your Mark, Get Set, Sock!

March 13, 2006

It’s time to start sockapaloooza-ing! This weekend I’ve been playing with the “Simply Lovely Lace Socks” pattern from the latest IK. Aside from the boring name, the pattern is simply lovely. This weekend I made it past the heel turn:

This little sock is the cutest sock I’ve ever made. The fabric is lightweight, the lace pattern is delicate, and the whole sock screams springtime. But it’s too small. Much, much too small. And the twisted stitches ensure that there is absolutly no stretch to it. So sad. Oh, and the color is not right for my pal. I was going to fix that with some dye later on, but the sock had enough other problems that I decided to start over. Slightly thicker yarn (Lorna’s Laces), slightly larger needles (US#2s), and a sock that looks just as springy and looks like it will fit:

So my sockapaloozas are off and running. But I’m still not sure what to do with yellow sock #1 up there. I’m really liking the sock, I can’t bear to rip, but what do you do with a sock that doesn’t fit? Anyone out there with very skinny feet interested in a swap?

6 Comments
  1. March 13, 2006 10:58 am

    OK, not that I need any more socks to make, but I have GOT to make that sock! It is too springy and lovely to pass up. I love the little picot top, and the pinky-pink Lorna’s. Yay spring!

  2. March 13, 2006 12:49 pm

    it’s so cute! maybe you could make the yellow pair for a tiny friend?

  3. March 13, 2006 1:10 pm

    They both look great(even though one was too small). Just passing through on Stashalong patrol–have a great week!!

  4. March 13, 2006 7:01 pm

    Well, you’re a leg up on me! (pun intended) I finally decided what to knit for my pal, and pal on starting this week. Right…

  5. March 14, 2006 4:55 pm

    Those look great- I’ve been wanting to try those socks, good to know that they work well in Lorna’s.

  6. March 15, 2006 2:38 pm

    very sweet – and those will count for project spectrum, too, since march is red and pink month!

Comments are closed.

