Skip to content

From the Mailbox

February 25, 2006

Let me tell you about my Secret Pal…

All of those goodies fit into one box! I hope I don’t forget anything… let’s see… there’s monkey stickers, a bookmark (good for all the reading I’m doing), cute funny magnets, a pair of knitting needles, dark chocolate Toblerone (which I have never tried, or, at least had never tried until just after I snapped the picture), a cupcake ornament, a Fraggle Rock DVD (I used to love Fraggle Rock, but since we didn’t have cable I could only watch it at friends’ houses) several skeins of yarn (more on that later), and the book “The Art and Flair of Mary Blair” which I have been lusting over forever.

I could go on and on about how much I like each gift… but y’all don’t want to hear all of that. So I’ll save my raving for the book. Mary Blair was the artist responsible for the feel of some of Disney’s more ofbeat animation (like “Alice in Wonderland”) and is probably best known for designing the Small World ride. This book is just pure joy to look through–and perhaps it’ll be inspirational as well. Now if I could just figure out how to knit in her style…

And there’s a close up of the yarn. Four fun yarns to play with–three are new to me. The black, white and grey striped fixation is going to make some fun summer socks, especially when paired up with some of the black and hot pink Fixation I got from Larissa in the Sock Scrap Swap. The self patterning sock yarn will also probably get paired up with something in the stash. The yellow yarn there is a thin cotton chenille. I’ve heard chenilles are good for washcloths, and since I’ve just got one ball I’m thinking that’s what this will become. Maybe even a smaller version of the flower shaped cloth from Weekend Knitting. And the Andean Silk–yay for silk! I’d been wanting to try that yarn. There’s enough here for me to make a little hat or something, and to swatch and figure out if I like it enough to buy more for a sweater someday.

Thank you Ms. Pal, I’m going to find plenty in this package to keep me entertained long after the reveal.

3 Comments
  1. SP7 permalink
    February 25, 2006 8:35 pm

    yay! i’m so glad you got it!

    the lil’ ball of cotton yarn is excellent for washclothes it just gets softer and softer 😉

  2. February 26, 2006 6:32 pm

    Great SP7 gift!! That’s always fun. I like your knitted shoe too. Just passing through on Stashalong patrol–have a great week!

  3. March 3, 2006 3:37 pm

    Lucky you! My secret pal seems to have disappeared…

Comments are closed.

