Skip to content

Knitted Shoe: Take One

February 20, 2006

You’ll have to excuse the ridiculous number of pictures in this post. As I was working on these I kept thinking, dude, I’m knitting shoes, I have to show somebody! So, here’s the process so far.

Size E crochet hooks aren’t really meant for bulky, unspun yarn. But I managed to cast on, which consisted of pulling loops through the drilled holes and placing them on over a dozen DPNs. The pattern calls for size 9’s, but I ended up using 8’s, 9’s, 10’s and one lone 7. The pattern also suggests that you knit both shoes at the same time–but, really, who has that many needles? The different sizes didn’t give me much trouble, the whole project was so awkward that keeping a steady gauge was the least of my problems.

That’s a picture of knitting the first row. Alison posted great step by step photos of how to knit up close to a shoe with a crochet hook. I am not so talented, I just wanted to show off what a mess it was. 🙂

The pattern suggests that the first two or three rows are knit with a crochet hook, but I gave up after the first round and started the awkward process of knitting next to the tough funny shape of the shoe. A strange feeling, but rather addictive. I was off and knitting… but I was already noticing a problem. See the huge ladders?

I ignored them for a bit, and kept knitting. I started the decreases and ended up with this cute little toe:

But the back half of the shoe wasn’t looking so good. The ladders weren’t going away. The Freedom Wool (love that name) I substituted said it had the same gauge as Burly Spun, but it sure didn’t seem to be filling out enough.

On one hand, these are knitted shoes. They are not a serious project, they’re going to look a bit goofy anyways, and knitting on a dozen DPNs around a shoe, while entertaining, isn’t really something I want to try more than twice. On the other hand, these are knitted shoes! I get to show them off on the internet, I’m going to have fun wearing them, and I’m probably not going to be making any more knitted high heels anytime soon. Perfectionist tendancies won out–I ripped.

Luckily, I was able to save the cast on–don’t have to do that again! Next time I’m going to try knitting the yarn doubled. I’m hoping to play with that some during some Olympics tonight–you’ll get an update when I get back from school on Friday.

5 Comments
  1. February 20, 2006 7:33 pm

    I love the shoes – Freedom

  2. February 20, 2006 7:34 pm

    Sorry for posting too quickly –

    Freedom Wool is my new favorite. I just finished a hat with that same color and I love it.

  3. February 21, 2006 8:40 am

    There is no way to adequately express how impressed I am with this undertaking. You go, girl!

  4. February 21, 2006 1:09 pm

    oh my goodness, this looks super, super tricky. Good luck and I can’t wait to see how they turn out!

  5. February 23, 2006 12:30 pm

    My first reaction….NO WAY! That is soooo cool! Knitted Shoes? I couldn’t get my mind around it until I saw your photos. I don’t think it is something I would attempt, but I would wear them! What a cool project!

Comments are closed.

