Skip to content

Alive and Kickin’

February 19, 2006

I’ve gotten a very slow start on this knitalong. At first I thought it would be a fun idea, but I had no drill. Then my husband got a drill for Christmas. But then it took a long time for me to find shoes, and find them in the right size. Well, the drill is here, the shoes arrived Friday, and last night Christer and I put the two together.

First, tape up the shoes. Check.

Second, mark where to drill holes. Check.

Third, remove tape. Marks remain. Check.

And then start drilling! Drilling went well, until the very last hole, where my hand slipped, and the shoe ripped. The very last hole!

So the shoe spent the night drying from a soak in E6000. It seems pretty secure this morning. The rip will be covered by the knitting. And the way the cast on works, the yarn should pull side to side more than up and down. So I’m hopeful that this slip has not jepardized the project.

I am not so talented with the drill. There are holes in the correct places, but I also managed to mangle the inside of the shoe, especially in the toe. I’m a bit worried about how that’ll feel when I try to wear them. I’m glad I got the slightly bigger size, because I might need to add some sort of insole or toe guard once I’m done to make these wearable.

But all in all, my boots are finally alive and kickin’ it. This afternoon I’ll be picking up a crochet hook and hopefully casting on.

One Comment
  1. February 19, 2006 9:40 am

    Very cool! I can’t wait to see your progress on these. BTW, I’m a baby about wearing anything but birks so I understand!

Comments are closed.

