Skip to content

Inspiration

February 4, 2006

I have really been liking Magknits lately. For a while they seemed to be publishing some half-assed patterns (although, to be fair, there were always some amazing patterns mixed in) and I was a bit worried that they would end up abandoned. But since they’ve started publishing monthly, it really seems like each issue has been better than the last. And in this issue, nearly every pattern made me think – “I need one of those!” or “That gives me an idea!”


Like these socks. So much potential here. So many ideas for possible socks for Christer. Unfortunatly he manages to wear holes in socks in mere minutes. And after he went and lost his Spherey, I’m not sure I want to put the time in to another knit that won’t last. But breakout socks? That’s a tempting possibility.


And this skirt, which is the best use of Noro I have ever seen. Only problems: I don’t wear skirts, and I only have three balls of Noro. But I am loving the look of this so much that I am going to rip back my Noro bag and use some ideas from this pattern to make the bag instead.


This shawl and the other scarf pattern just make me think of lace and scarves and how I’d like to make a shawl. I think I’d like to make one this shape–a rectangle big enough to look shawl-ish and skinny enough to be worn as a scarf. Not this pattern, necessarily, but something like it.


And then there were these two, which I just plain covet. I need knitted sushi. Really, I do. And I can’t imagine fiddling with one of Grumperina’s patterns. You read her, you know how much thought she puts into this stuff. There is nothing left to be thought of for this pattern, it’s perfect just the way it is.

5 Comments
  1. February 4, 2006 12:50 pm

    I love sushi, but I think I’d rather have the real thing.

  2. February 4, 2006 1:48 pm

    I’ve been ina bit of a tizzy lately, not able to really settle on a project, because I have a *huge* list of things I want to make! I’m currently into a cabled cardigan from IK, but other things are starting to call to me …

  3. February 5, 2006 4:45 pm

    I love the sushi–it looks like so much fun! And your stitch markers are adorable πŸ™‚ Just passing through on Stashalong patrol–have a great week!

  4. February 6, 2006 11:58 am

    What a great site! I LOVE the logo at the top–so fun. πŸ™‚ I even nosed around a little and found Christer’s site. It’s SO GOOD to have an idea of what he looks like. πŸ˜€ You guys have been married for three years and this is the first! πŸ™‚ Now, we just have to figure out a way for all four of us (five, if we count Scooter) to get together!

    And I can’t help thinking that maybe I should start knitting… πŸ˜€

  5. February 7, 2006 6:43 pm

    I like MagKnits more and more, but this one I love!

Comments are closed.

