Skip to content

Week in Review

February 3, 2006

My apologies for the mixed up picture in the last post, it’s fixed now. That’ll teach me to try and set up pre-posts to show up while I’m out of town. Pre-posting didn’t work so well, so here’s my attempt at post-posting about the events of the week:

Another new blog: Everybody’s doing it! Yet another friend has started a blog–go say hi, okay?

Oscars: It is entirely Christer’s fault that I even know when the Oscars come around. I think I’ve watched the entire ceremony every year since we’ve been together. This morning I finally got a chance to look through the whole list of nominees. I’m really glad that “Crash” recieved lots of nominations–that was far and away my favorite movie of the year. And I am looking forward to seeing how they decide to perform the song “It’s Hard Out There for a Pimp” at the Oscars. My vote for best costume design is “Charlie and Chocolate Factory”–mostly because I think it would be more fun to design for a fantasy world than to try and recreate a real period.

State of the Union: I kind of think of watching the State of the Union as my civic duty. Thank goodness, then for stitching furiously on Samus, it helped keep my snarky comments to a minimum while watching Bush in a mixed-party audience at school. Besides, whatever Bush might have blathered about was drowned out in my mind by the complete spinlessness of the Democrats in not even attempting to Filabuster Alito. Relax, stitch, look at the Samus. There now, doesn’t endless stockinette make you feel better?

Groundhog’s Day: I echo Ginny–what’s this about six more weeks of winter? If we started today we might be able to fit in six weeks before spring. I’d trade a few degrees of heat for a few hours of sunlight. My moods and my pictures are suffering (observe Samus above).

School: I came up with an idea for a hat pattern while reading my Process Theology homework. You would think my inspiration would work the opposite way–that in the silent meditation of stitching I would come up with brilliant insights about theology. But no, while trying very hard to focus on some rather difficult ideas, what comes to mind but an idea for a hat.

2 Comments
  1. February 3, 2006 6:20 pm

    Samus looks lovely. I’ve been swatching for mine, Samus is my Olympic knitting.

  2. February 7, 2006 4:32 pm

    Samus is such a beautiful color. I’m sure you’ll be able to get through the miles of stockinette. I’m depressed about Alito too. I’m just pretending he’s a robot that will malfunction eventually.

Comments are closed.

