Skip to content

Kick It Supplies

January 21, 2006

I’ve found my yarn for the Knitty Gritty knitted boots that I’m going to be making along with Alison’s knit along.

Freedom Wool in a seemingly unnamed shade of green. I’m liking the name–has anyone else knitted with this stuff?

This morning I placed my final order of school books from Amazon.com. And along with the books, I ordered the shoes that will form the base of the boots. Evidently I’m not the only one. Check out what “Customers who viewed this item also viewed.” The Capiezio marketing folks are running around in circles right now trying to figure out why knitters want character shoes!

Ordering the shoes was a bit of a challenge–because I always, always wear my Docs, which I’ve had for 8 years, so I have no idea what size they are, and they’re in men’s sizes anyway. So I had to dig through my closet to find some proper ladies footwear to see what size they were. I finaly found a pair of white heels that I bought for my wedding, 3 years ago, and haven’t worn since. They were size 7 1/2.

The challenge of these shoes will not be the drilling or finding 12 size 9 DPNs or knitting close to the sole. No, the challenge of these shoes will be setting the Docs aside to walk in heels.

5 Comments
  1. January 21, 2006 4:19 pm

    Love the stitch markers–so cute. Shamus is one of the sweaters I’ve been considering lately. Just popping through on weekly Stashalong patrol–have a great weekend!

  2. January 22, 2006 10:59 am

    How in the world do you not love a knitting pattern that, in the supplies list, calls for a POWER DRILL?

    Good luck!

  3. January 22, 2006 1:18 pm

    How awesome! Freedom wool — I love that. And I think those boots will be kickin’ in that color.

  4. January 22, 2006 9:24 pm

    LOVE the knitted boots 🙂 That yarn does sound cool.. its the perfect shade of green. Where did you find that at?!

  5. January 28, 2006 9:52 pm

    I love freedom wool. I think the recommended gauge is a bit loose, but it’s lovely and soft and reasonably priced. I have some in the same color of green.

Comments are closed.

