Skip to content

Undoing Unbiased

January 13, 2006

Unbiased has hit a snag.

This is the front:

This is the back:

See that tiny little ball of yarn left? See how much is left to make it as tall as the other side? And don’t forget to figure in the strap. As I said before, this yarn’s tag didn’t tell me the yardage or weight of the yarn, and I have a suspicion that ball number two was significantly smaller than ball #1.

What to do? Ripping and resizing is out of the question. This is fragile, snaggy yarn, and when I’ve had to even undo a few stitches it has stuck and ripped. Ripping would ruin the yarn. Buying more is also not allowed. First, because sari yarn varries quite a bit and this particular yarn was purchased in Oregon. And second because I really am trying to stick to the stashalong rules. I don’t need more yarn to fix this, there’s got to be another solution.

Happily, a fellow Stitch&Bitcher had a fun idea for fixing this. It’s a solution that fits the informal style of the bag, and allows me to keep the remaining sari silk for the strap. Give me a few days to find something from my stash to add to this bag, and I’ll show you what she thought of.

8 Comments
  1. January 13, 2006 9:05 am

    Good Luck!!!!

  2. January 13, 2006 12:08 pm

    You’ve got a potential solution that involves further de-stashing? Cool. Can’t wait to see what it is.

  3. January 13, 2006 7:50 pm

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  4. January 13, 2006 11:29 pm

    Me too- I am in anticipation.

  5. January 14, 2006 6:37 pm

    I hope everything works out–knock on wood, I haven’t had the too little yarn problem yet. Just popping through on weekly Stashalong check.

  6. January 16, 2006 12:27 am

    That is so pretty! I have some leftover recycled sari silk that I can send you if you’d like to finish the bag. Just e-mail me your address. It won’t be the same, but each hank of that stuff is so different anyway.

  7. Teresa permalink
    January 16, 2006 7:57 pm

    Please, oh please – even if you take up the offer for more of the sari silk yarn, I have the exact same problem and anxiously await a solution!

  8. January 29, 2006 3:40 pm

    Just a comment on the unbiased bag…I did one and love it – but I added a couple of snaps on the side and a button-and-loop closure to the center. Another lady in my knitting circle did one but knit a triangle into the center of the bag to make it more square and less — um, whatevershaped…

    make sure you use plenty of vinegar when you wash it!! Good luck!!

Comments are closed.

