Skip to content

Noro Bag Beginnings

January 9, 2006

Another Christmas gift is on the needles: some Noro Kureyon in colorway 170. My parents got me enough to make a Booga Bag. But I felt like playing around, and I wanted to give wider stripes a try, so I’m working on my own little felted bag pattern. I’m knitting the front, back and sides as different pieces so that the stripes end up wider than the round and round Booga. Here it is so far:

Can’t tell yet that it’s going to be a bag, but you can see the colors. The colors of Noro are so much fun. I love self striping yarn, although I admit that I have limited uses for striped finished products. I knit the first half of this on the airplane home from Portland, and the stripes proved sufficiently entertaining. Especially since the plane offered no movie and no food.

3 Comments
  1. January 9, 2006 2:49 pm

    Oooh, what a GREAT colorway! I love it. And I am with you on the love for Noro, but not so much for stripes. Accessories are definitely the way to go.

  2. January 9, 2006 4:32 pm

    Hi, I just knitted with Noro Kureyon as well and I was amazed by the colours. It was only a one-skein project but I loved the surprising stripes. I think I would enjoy a whole sweater – for the colours – but probably not for the price!
    btw- congratulations! Eventhough I was shy or a little negligent to comment on your post, I enjoyed them so much that I elected you the winner of my little contest. I will send you an email on this within the next days.

  3. January 10, 2006 6:22 pm

    Mmmm, pretty. That reminds me, I have some kureyon stashed away that I should hat-ify before winter is over …

Comments are closed.

