Skip to content

Christmas Gifts Given

January 4, 2006

I’m back home! The last week in Portland was great–caught up with family, played with my nephews, sat around reading and eatting and talking a lot, watched 8 episodes of Veronica Mars, spent some time knitting up some new yarns.

But you’re here for the knitting–and although it seems like Christmas was ages ago, I still haven’t show you the knitted Christmas gifts.

First, here’s a little Sophie gift bag to hold my sister-in-law’s gift. Before felting, this shot best captures the color:

And after, all packed up and ready to give:

Pattern: Sophie from Magknits
Needles: US10 1/2
Yarn: Cascade 220, color #9408, a yummy chocolate brown
Notes: You’ve all made a Sophie or two, right? It’s the perfect little pattern, especially for knitting in the dark in the car. Every time I make one I try to think of other reasons to make more.

Next up, Terror Alert Level socks for my brother. Finding proper yarn, figuring out this pattern, and knitting up an extra sock accidentally (it was much too small)–this project has been in the works since this summer.

Pattern: my own. not much market for Terror Alert Level socks, it seems.
Needles: US0’s (for ribbing) and US1’s
Yarn: Knitpicks Palette, which makes a nice, warm, wool sock. Sadly it is not machine washable–but it was the only yarn I could find in the proper range of bright colors.
Notes: So much fun figuring out how to make these! I wanted to blog about them many times, but, alas, my brother reads this.

And finally, a scarf for my grandma:

That’s grandma, showing off her scarf on Christmas morning. And this is a better close up of the stitch pattern from when it was blocking (or for an even better look, click on the pattern link):

Pattern: Dayflower Lace Scarf free at Stitchin’ Girl
Needles: US6
Yarn: Elsbeth Lavold Silky Wool, my new favoritist yarn
Notes: This was the first lace project I’ve made where I couldn’t memorize the chart. And it was kind of fun. After the first few pattern repeats I could knit this in front of the TV, if I wasn’t too concerned with the show. Perfect for watching CSI with my friends at the guest house at school–I like hanging out with them after class, but I like looking at my knitting instead of watching the yucky scenes. Originally I was planning on making a scarf for each of my Grandmas–but that didn’t quite get finished. My other Grandma is first on the list for a knitted gift next winter.

Doesn’t Grandma look good in that picture? Unfortunatly, two days later, while I was in Portland, she went in to the doctor, and they discovered a tumor in her colon. By the end of the week they had removed it, and Grandma is now in the hospital recovering. The good news is that the doctors felt they got everything out, and didn’t see the cancer spreading. But Grandma’s having a tough time with the recovery–so I’m thinking about her a lot.

Christmas isn’t quite over here. I still need to write my Christmas cards and send off one gift. And tomorrow I’ll catch you up on some of the new projects I’ve been playing with since Christmas day.

10 Comments
  1. January 4, 2006 1:07 pm

    Those socks are so awesome!!!! You did a great job. And I’ll be thinking of your grandmother, I’m glad that they were able to catch the tumor before anything spread.

  2. January 4, 2006 1:19 pm

    I’ll keep Grandma in my prayers.

  3. January 4, 2006 9:55 pm

    Those socks are awesome! You *have* to send the pattern somewhere to be published …

  4. January 5, 2006 9:53 am

    Those alert socks are hysterical! I agree that you should submit them for publication 🙂

  5. January 5, 2006 12:43 pm

    your stuff is all great! I hope your grandma gets better soon.

  6. January 6, 2006 10:58 am

    I’ve had one comment on my blog asking if you’re taking orders for the socks. You might have to get the pattern out there before people start asking you to make them.

  7. January 7, 2006 9:27 pm

    the socks are awesome! I bet more people would love that pattern. and gramma’s scarf is lovely! hope she’s on the mend soon!

  8. January 8, 2006 9:54 pm

    Those socks are brilliant!

  9. January 15, 2006 11:29 am

    Those socks are incredibly cool!! I hope your brother appreciated them, for they are brilliant and hilarious!

Trackbacks

  1. Matthew for America » should I be scared today? check my socks!

Comments are closed.

