Skip to content

Yarn Crawling

November 21, 2005

Remember when I went to Kansas City for my high school reunion? And do you remember me mentioning something about finding yarn along the way? Well, the yarn finally gets its own post.

My trip from Indianapolis to Kansas City (that’s about 8 hours on I-70) included two yarn stops. The first was at Riverwools in Terre Haute, Indiana. My roomate at the commuter house at school knows the owner, and told me I should stop by. I was super impressed. They had lots of Cascade yarns that I hadn’t seen before, and lots of Noro. I didn’t get to meet the owner, but the woman working there was a lot of fun–I heard her whole life story in the hour I was in the shop, and got her opinion on every yarn I touched. I love shops like that. I decided I needed a souvineer, so I left with a pair of size 1US straight bamboo needles to help me with a sock project I’m working on, and two skeins of Noro silk garden:

That stop was so much more fun than driving, that I decided to stop again, this time in Columbia, Missouri, at Hilcreek Fiber Studio. Wow again. I meant to make a quick stop, I was only two hours from the end of my trip. But I stayed for an hour again–gotta touch every single ball of yarn in the shop. There I discovered Lamb’s Pride Prairie Silk has anyone ever used this? It reminded me a lot of Cash Iroha, but cheaper. I might have to get some someday for the Hourglass Sweater. I left it there for now, but I did pick up some Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool:

Have I mentioned that I love silk? My secret pal was asking for a list of my favorite yarns–and I have to say that I am in love with pretty much anything that has even a hint of silk in it. In fact, all four of the yarns mentioned in this post contain some silk. I love the nubbyness of raw silk, and the softness silk adds to other fibers, and the silky smell it adds to fabric.

Um, yeah. I just wrote a little ode to silk yarn there. That was kind of embarrassing. Move along folks, nothing to see here, just the crazy lady with the yarn…

2 Comments
  1. November 22, 2005 12:38 pm

    I love silk, too! I used to have a red silk blouse that I literally wore to pieces, and silk yarn? Right over here with it, baby! I will say that Noro Silk Garden, while it has gorgeous colors, sure does have a lot of crap in it…little bits of straw, fuzz, all kinds of things. I love it anyway, though.

  2. November 22, 2005 4:47 pm

    I heard that Debbie Bliss is doing a new silk, did you see that? Have you tried the recycled sari silk? Very fun.

Comments are closed.

