Skip to content

Fort Wayne Fridays-Apple Picking

October 28, 2005

You thought I’d forgotten about Fort Wayne Fridays. Maybe you were hoping I had forgotten about them. But no, I have ever intention to keep them going. It’s good discipline for me, and it’s a way to show what I’m up to when I’m not knitting.

These pictures are nearly two weeks old, because I forgot to post them last friday. That weekend, two weeks ago, was the last really beautiful weather we had here. Cool, sunny fall days are fine, but the day we went apple picking was bright and warm. No sweaters, no coats, just apples.

I’d love to say the name of the place we picked, but I didn’t see a name. At the entrance there was this sign:

But really, I hope that’s not the name. Doesn’t it make you think of some mutant apple tree that the Superfriends would have battled? No mutant trees here, just apples. And apple pickers.

The highlight of the trip was these apple picker thingies. For getting the high up apples. They worked surprizingly well, but still managed to slow us down a bit. Because picking apples goes oh-so-much quicker than eatting apples. There are still many apples in the fridge from this outting.

3 Comments
  1. October 28, 2005 12:29 pm

    Oooh, fun. I need to look into whether we can still go picking around here, I need to get some apples for apple butter!

  2. October 28, 2005 1:18 pm

    We used to go pick apples in the Fall when I lived in NM and I miss it. Looks like you guys had a lot of fun!

  3. October 28, 2005 6:19 pm

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and entering the contest. I’m sorry to say you didn’t win, but all of us knitters can chow down on candy corn and chocolate (yum) and feel like winners anyway 🙂 Happy Halloween!

Comments are closed.

