Skip to content

Candy’s Back

October 15, 2005

Just in time for Halloween, Candy has returned.

When we last saw Candy, she was oh-so-close to being finished. Body: check. Sleeves: check. Neckline: check. Just needed her bottom edge ribbing and a crocheted button band. I was so excited, because I’d been working really hard on her. And then I tried her on. Candy was not shapped like a sweater. She didn’t even come close to fitting.

The first stage of frogging is denial. Maybe if I tacked this here, or added a ribbon to firm things up here. I don’t need to frog this, it just needs some blocking. Second stage: acceptance. Yes, this poor Candy is going to need major reworking–frogging, redoing math, the whole shebang. Third stage: panic: Frog? All that work? Math again? Noooooo…. Fourth stage: distraction. Shiny new yarn over there. Must cast on! Sweater still on needles? I have no idea what you’re talking about.

Yesterday I found Candy, curled up in a ball, hiding at the very bottom of a box of yarn. It actually took untangling to get her loose ends to come out with her. Fresh out of the box she looked like so:

And after trying her on, I determined that the mistake happened down quite a way, somewhere between the armpits and the beginning of the striped middle. An hour later, frogged and back on the needles, here she is:

Less Candy is always a sad thing.

To be fair to the pattern, I accept the blame for this tragedy. I was not quite at gauge, I was redoing the math, and I was second guessing the pattern–all at the same time. I’m not entirely convinced that this will fit on the second try, either. But now I know that I am tough enough to pull through and frog if need be. Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?

3 Comments
  1. October 15, 2005 1:43 pm

    Good job on finally facing it. I’m rooting for you.

  2. October 16, 2005 9:20 am

    That stinks that you had to rip, but if there is something wrong and it doesn’t fit right, then I guess the yarn shouldn’t go to waste… Happy October 🙂

  3. October 16, 2005 1:35 pm

    It’s so hard to rip, but it will be so worth it. What are you using for it? I think it’s going to look great- and super cute for the holidays too.

Comments are closed.

